HELP Cancel Erase Instruction?

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by Mike Boreham, Oct 19, 2012.

  1. Mike Boreham macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I was looking at "My Devices" on the FindiPhone app on my iPhone 5. I saw my old iPhone 4 listed there as "Mikes iPhone 4". I wanted to delete it from the list and the only option I could see was "erase device", which I did. I now realise that this did not delete it from the list but sent an instruction that it will be erased when it next connects to the internet.

    I gave that phone to my daughter-in-inlaw, but I restored it as new phone before I gave it to her, so it is not called "Mikes iPhone 4" anymore.

    Do I need to worry? I am guessing/hoping not since there is no "Mikes iPhone 4" on my account anymore.

    I have since found how to remove devices on the iCloud webpage, and have removed "Mikes iPhone 4" from my devices...would that kill the instruction anyway?

    Thanks
     
  2. HazyCloud macrumors 68030

    HazyCloud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    #2
    I don't think it'll get wiped since it has been restored for someone else. If that were the case, people could wipe their old phones even after they've sold them.

    Plus, since iPhones always have a data connection, it would have already wiped and you would have heard from your daughter-in-law. :)
     
  3. Mike Boreham thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Thanks for reassurance!

    As you say there would be other big implications if the remote erase instruction worked in the this case.
     

Share This Page