Help: Cannot upgrade to iOS4

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Yoh, Jun 30, 2010.

  1. Yoh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #1
    I am currently using iphone 3G with 3.1.3 version

    I downloaded itunes 9.2 and iOS4. When i go to update it in itunes, it asks for me to backup my data, and i want to... then the bar for backing up comes up... realllly slowly. Then suddenly it shoots to like 99%, then a few minutes and it says that it cannot connect to the server and then the backup is aborted.

    what should i do?
     
  2. bamafever09 macrumors regular

    bamafever09

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    Hoover/Tuscaloosa Alabama
    #2
    if i were u i wouldnt do it. i put ios4 on my moms 3g and it runs like crap now... just a warning haha
     
  3. Yoh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #3
    i need to unlock it... and i dont think i can unlock 3.1.3.... but theres a way to unlock 4 already... unless theres a way to unlock 3.1.3, which I will greatly appreciate... then i need to do this

    heres the msg
     

    Attached Files:

  4. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
  5. Figbash Acrobat macrumors 6502a

    Figbash Acrobat

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Location:
    Alphaville
    #5
    +1
    Don't do it! I upgraded my 3G when 4.0 came out and it was awful...lagged, dragged, bugs, etc. I just downgraded back to 3.1.3 and feel like I actually upgraded, it's so much more responsive. I almost forgot how the phone should work. Much better now/again. So, I can now (soon) move up to iPhone 4 and hand down my 3G to my girlfriend with a clean conscious. :D
     
  6. Yoh thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #6
    this is not hacks or anything.... i just need to update my iphone... and pls dont say dont do it, since im trying to do it...

    so, why is that error occurring? how to fix...
     
  7. Jomni macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    Bristol
    #7
    You could do an itunes uninstall/re-install, etc, etc,

    But as most have said ios4 on the 3G will depress you!
     
  8. chaleyer macrumors newbie

    chaleyer

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Oz
    #8
    + another one. Am just going through a downgrade on my 3G at this moment because of how slow it turned out to be. Fingers crossed that it goes well.
    As to unlocking the handset.. I am with Optus in Australia. I called them six weeks ago to prep for using foreign sims in the UK, France and Italy when travelling in September, and they sms'd me a code a code a couple of days later; backup/restore in iTunes and I had an unlocked 3G on 3.1.3. Hopefully AT&T will do the same for you.
    Now waiting for the 4 to come to Oz...maybe August??
     
  9. FSUSem1noles macrumors 68000

    FSUSem1noles

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale
    #9
    Did you change your hosts file? If you did you need to change it back to the original and try again...
     
  10. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    Is this a stock iPhone or has it been JB'd/unlocked? If its the former, then take it to an apple store and have them resolve it. If its the latter then you'll probably need to undo what ever action you undertook.
     
  11. bowlerman625 macrumors 68020

    bowlerman625

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago, IL area

Share This Page