Help! Canon HF S20 not even recognized

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Pwpw, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. Pwpw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    #1
    Hi,
    I have a Canon HF S20. I have followed the directions and advise from this forum to no avail. I've plugged my camcorder in. I have coneected via USB to my MacPro. I have opened FCE & IMovie 08 and tried to import from camera.

    I get the same error message-"to import from camera please connect a camera"
    The software that came with the camera was for Windows so I never installed Pixela imagemaker 3 SE.
    1. Do I need to first download this software?
    If so, what is a trust-worthy site to download it from?

    2. Is it best to import the Canon AVCHD format to IMovie using Aunsoft Final Matefor Mac?
    Or use Doremisoft Canon Vixia Video to FCE Converter to convert the CAnon format to a file type t hat FCE can edut?

    3. Finally, for the love of redundacy. Is there a way to import the Canon format into IMovie, save it in that format and then export it into FCE for editing and save it in that format as well?
     
  2. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #2
    Does the cam show up in the Finder? If not, use a card reader (if the cam works with SD cards). Then just copy the whole file structure to your computer. You shouldn't need any extra software.
     
  3. Pwpw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    #3
    It does not show up in Finder.
    I have the video on the internal 32GB harddrive of the camcorder.
     
  4. cgbier macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    #4
    You sure your USB cable is working?

    Don't get me wrong, but did you read your camera's manual and tried the manual's suggestions?
     
  5. Pwpw thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    #5
    Good idea. I switched to a different USB cord that just worked for my digital camera. No dice.
    So I turn on the camcorder while attached to a power source.
    I then connect the USB cord to the computer.
    I then am supposed to be able to open IMovie (08) and then attempt to import from camera and IMovie is supposed to search and find the camera, yes?

    Is there some certain 'mode' the camcorder is supposed to be in?
    The manual is very vague about how the camera is supposed to be situated in order to transfer video. Other than being turned on and connected via a USB cable.
    Feeling stupid here. I'm sure I'm missing something very basic.
    PWpw
     
  6. pigbat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    #6
    I can't remember exactly how iMovie 08 works but when I connect it o my machine I need to click the camera capture icon and then choose the camera from the drop down list.

    And yes, the camera needs to be in playback mode not record/capture mode.
     
  7. Oberhammer, Sep 28, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2011

    Oberhammer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #7
    http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consu...mer_camcorders/vixia_hf_s20#ServiceAndSupport

    Look at the FAQ --- http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consu...mer_camcorders/vixia_hf_s20#ServiceAndSupport


    Using the Canon VIXIA HG and HF series Camcorders With iMovie 08
    Note:

    Only Intel processor Macs can capture and edit AVCHD footage.

    Please update your Mac before you start. Click the 'Apple' in the upper right hand corner of the screen, then click 'Software Update' to update both the Mac OS and iMovie 08.

    - The current versions as of Oct, 2007 are:
    Mac OS X: 10.4.10

    iMovie '08: no specific version number listed

    The VIXIA AVCHD based camcorders are compatible with Leopard (OS 10.5).

    Instructions:

    The camcorder must be in video playback mode and must be connected to the power supply. Attach the VIXIA AVCHD Camcorder to the computer using the supplied USB connector.

    The camcorder appears on the desk top as an external hard drive named "CANON_HDD".

    - The HF10, HF11, HF20, HG20, and HG21 will be displayed as two CANON_HDD's if a memory card is loaded.
     

Share This Page