HELP! Can't connect with Windows computer

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by yltybaby, Jun 10, 2019.

  1. yltybaby macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    #1
    Hi, everybody. i meet a problem that confused me several day...

    I have a macbook pro 2015 with macOS 10.14, and a desktop PC with windows 7. there are in the same internet, so i set the file share between them, and it works.

    but recently, my MacBook can't connect to the Windows, and in Finder-Network, it said “connection failed”. if i click the "connect with..." button, it appeared that "there was a problem connecting to the server."

    Ok, anyway, i tried to use Finder-Go-Connect to server, but it also say connect failed, i swear i spell correct IP Address, but it can't work. My friend used her computer and she can work, why?

    and i try to other windows computer in the same route, i can connect with them. Just can't connect with my windows computer.

    can anybody help me? Thanks~

    BTW: is that the reason that i reset my route recently? i remember in the past, the ip address of my Windows computer is "192.168.3.64", and now is "192.168.3.8". maybe Mac also remember the OLD IP address so cause that ?



    Screen Shot 2019-06-10 at 3.11.17 PM.png Screen Shot 2019-06-10 at 3.11.42 PM.png
     
  2. yltybaby thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
  3. Honza1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #3
    This is tough to help. It may be networking, server change or something in OSX side.
    What happens if you Browse for the servers? Finder, select Go : Connect to server (cmd-k) and lower right is button "Browse". Do you see your server? If not, OSX is not seeing the service.

    This way you avoid need to know the IP number or even type of protocol. While service on Windows may be Samba, on OSX side it can show as smb:// (samba) or cifs:// (whatever that means). My network - by now - has only Mac servers, so my experience with Windows servers is limited in the last few years.

    This may sound funny, but are you sure you are on the same network? Like in my house I have guest network and my own network, from the same wifi point. Samba does not pass through between those networks. In my case the IP number spaces are different, so it is easy to say, but I am not sure if that is always. And since you rest the system, may be computer connected accidentally to the second network?
    Check your OSX firewall options in Security & Privacy. Try turning off firewall for testing and see, if that helps.
    Is the samba drive setup to require security? Limited to specific IP addresses?
    I remember at some point it was needed to allow some lower level for security on one of the systems - and I do not remember which one. Try to check for some up to date on line how to which may mention that. There was something about one system requiring higher level of security protocol or whatever.
    There is lots of options and while this should simply work (and usually does), it is difficult to diagnose.
     
  4. Cordorb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #4
    can't help witn Windows 7 but to help later - I make the IP's fixed on several of my devices to make it easy to remember.
    Like network printers - other computers ect.

    there are a few free /low cost net scan software that will list all your devices and Microsoft had the MAP function some where in the network access tab

    I just use a low cost one disk NAS to hold shared files to exchange between mac and windows.

    The old Apple airport router can even have a Flash drive plugged in to help exchange data
     
  5. yltybaby thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    #5
    thanks for your reply~

    yep, i stay in same network, and i can connect with another windows computer in the same network, but only my windows computer i can't connect. and you said use Finder- browse, i can find lots of computer in same network, and i can connect with other computer, only my windows can't. it makes me crazy

    by the way, thanks for you, maybe i need a hammer :)
    --- Post Merged, Jun 10, 2019 ---

    thanks~ but i'm a windows computer and my router is not airport. so maybe i need find another way~
     
  6. Honza1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #6
    No hammer, patience. May be you just identified where the problem is. You can connect with other computer (I assume same Windows version?), then the question is : what is different between the two computers? Is one Win 7 and the other Win 10? Or same version? One Home version and the other Pro? There were networking differences between those versions...
    If other OSX computers can connect with that one specific problematic Windows computer, then what is different between the two OSX computers?
    This is simple process of elimination. Hammer will make solution impossible to find.
     
  7. yltybaby thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    #7
    LOL, thanks Honza, i just kidding~

    it's same windows version, in the same network, the only difference is the windows computer which i can connect now is have no alter IP address in the past, and the problematic windows computer has changed the IP, automatic. so i guess maybe my Mac want to connect the windows with the old IP address, and the question is when i use "connect to serve", it not work either.
     

Share This Page

6 June 10, 2019