Help! Cant decide imac 27 inch or Mbp 13 inch

Discussion in 'iMac' started by LauraVlogz, Jul 22, 2011.

1. LauraVlogz macrumors newbie

Okay everyone i have a unique situation i cant decide to either buy a mbp 13 inch base model or the imac 27 inch base model. At first i really wanted to buy a mbp but as i thought about it i dont know if it can handle the things i want to do with it. i am going to be surfing the web watching video etc normal stuff. But i also want to do some video editing with it. i have done alot of video editing on my pc with high end software's but i don't know if the mbp 13 can handle final cut express. i refuse to buy the high end 13 because i can get the 27 inch imac for $1,599 since i am a student. i don't want the imac 21 inch either or a macbook pro 15 inch. i also think of the future when buying a computer in a few months i will get a canon t3i. can the mbp handle exporting files at 1080p at 60 fps. and not only that is the screen size to small for video editing? and don't tell me to get a external monitor because if i was going to put my macbook on a table it defeats the whole purpose of it being a laptop and i would rather just buy the imac. If you are going to ask me about portability this is how i see it. i rarely take my laptop out of my house but i do enjoy using it while laying down on my bed,couch or any place in my house, unlike the imac i dont have to sit in a chair for hours and i can relax. i share a room with my sister and i cant ever have any late night Skype video calls because of my desktop, the monitor light is to bright or i just can make sound in order for her to sleep. This is also a main reason i want a mbp so i can just go to the living room or some other place of my house and can take my computer. if i get a imac i i will probably buy a cheap pc laptop just for surfing the web so it wont be expensive but i wont have ichat which sucks.