help-can't jailbreak 1st gen Touch w/ 2.2.1

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by bobfitz14, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. bobfitz14 macrumors 65816

    bobfitz14

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #1
    first of all i searched the forums and couldn't find any help...

    soooo i downloaded the software update through iTunes, let my Touch sync it and everything. i forgot that is was going to un-Jailbreak my iPod but i figured whatever i'll download the new QuickPWN.

    then i googled for QuickPWN 2.2.1 and some weird like 2.2.5 came up, i still tried it and in QuickPWN it said it did firmware (software? what's the difference..) 2.2.1 and so i continued through with it. i've tried it like 3 times and nothing has happened. i downloaded some .net thing i found here but nothing.

    can someone give me a valid link for Jailbreaking a 1st gen Touch with 2.2.1 software?! oh, it must be for Windows too :eek:
     
  2. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #2
    Try the Official WinPwn. If that fails, post back and I'll try think of something else :p
     
  3. Muncher macrumors 65816

    Muncher

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Download the most recent quickpwn for windows. This is the link for quickpwn.
     
  4. bobfitz14 thread starter macrumors 65816

    bobfitz14

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #4
    i tried what you gave me and it went through the whole process and still Cydia and Installer doesn't show up, and yes they are checked when i am Jailbreaking. then i tried the guy who posted after you and it said "Firmware string error" but i think that's because it's not meant for 2.2.1

    think a Restore is the best way? cause right now i have weird titles on my iPod because i had that "MakeItMine" thing where you could edit it, and now it's goofy looking.
     
  5. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #5
    Yes, try a restore. If you want to jailbreak use QuickPwn 2.2.5 (It's for 2.2.1) again.
     
  6. bobfitz14 thread starter macrumors 65816

    bobfitz14

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #6
    i hate Restoring and i've had to do it a couple times within the past couple months but whatever i can't use my iPod right now so now is a good time to do it. thanks for the help.
     
  7. memo90061 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    I've jailbreaken my iPod Touch before and had no problems. I downloaded 2.2.1 and I can't get it in DFU mode. I keep getting this error everytime I follow the steps that QuickPwn tells me to do. This is the error I keep getting.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. insanityq macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #8
    Did you try fully restoring your iPod to its default state through iTunes before using QuickPWN?
     
  9. memo90061 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  10. Manikstor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #10
    thats why i didnt update my ipod to 2.2.1 :) its still on 2.2 for me.

    the update wasent even important it was mostly for the iphone.
     
  11. memo90061 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    I updated because I didn't think I was going to have a problem. I've never had this problem before! I should go back to 2.2.
     
  12. richardhunt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #12
    Are you using OSX 10.5.6? If so that may be your issue. There's a problem with getting the iphone/ipods into DFU mode with the update. Read the dev teams's blog regarding the work around. I have kept one of my macs at the 10.5.5 release just for this reason.
     
  13. memo90061 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13
    Yeah I have 10.5.6. Hmm. Thanks for the reply. I'll go read about it.

    I got it to work. :D
     
  14. musicmeastro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    #14
    all you need to do is quit itunes when it pops up and open it again then hit option and the restore button and restore with the new firmware you got with qpawn
     

Share This Page