iPhone HELP - Can't restore jailbroken iPhone 5

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by theaudiobully, Sep 19, 2013.

  1. theaudiobully macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    #1
    Can anyone shed any light on the following:

    I tried to restore my jailbroken iPhone 5 last night (running ios 6.1) but I kept getting this message:

    "There was a problem downloading the software for the iPad "Name of iPad" You do not have permission to access the requested resource."

    I tried putting it into DFU mode too but no joy. I know apples servers were getting a hammering but did a) this happen to many more people and b) has anyone found that it is working now that traffic has calmed down?

    Any help or advice greatly appreciated.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    You can only restore to current firmware - either iOS7 or 6.1.4 depending on whether Apple has stopped signing 6.1.4

    I tried to get an IPSW this morning, it failed.
     
  3. theaudiobully thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    #3
    sorry, I'm aware of that - I don't to restore to 6.1, I want to unjailbrake my iPhone and install iOS 7.
     
  4. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #4
  5. popere2684 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    #5
    please help me

    I was jailbroken on iphone 5 ios 8.1 att i reset the settings not realizing it wouldnt boot back up ive been trying to restore the device using dfu mode because it wont boot up ive download both versions cdma and gsm from many places and it keeps saying the software is not compatible what should i do? :mad:
     
  6. Syndicate0017 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    #6

    Remove any entry of gs.apple.com from your hosts file.

    Mac: /etc/hosts

    Windows: C:Windows/System32/drivers/etc/hosts
     
  7. popere2684 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    #7
    still doesnt work heres what im doing:
    iphone in DFU mode
    plugging into itunes and it popping up
    hitting shift and selecting ispw
    getting that message :confused:
     
  8. Syndicate0017 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    #8
    If you are getting that message in dfu mode, that means your hosts file is set incorrectly. Make sure there are no entries (or corresponding ip addresses) in your hosts file.
     
  9. popere2684 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    #9
    this is what it says in hosts files
    # Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on idividual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com #source server
    #
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com #x client host

    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    # 127.0.0.1 localhost
    # ::1 localhost
     
  10. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #10
    Make sure you're using the correct ipsw for your device (e.g. Model A1428 and A1429 use different ipsw)
     
  11. popere2684 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
  12. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #12
    Instead of holding shift + restore, just click restore when you're iphone 5 is in dfu mode and let iTunes download the ipsw for you. See if that works
     

Share This Page