Help!! Can't restore my iPhone!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by nhpl, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. nhpl macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I just bought my first iPhone. It is jailbreak & unlocked. And I did a reset on the phone, it was dead stuck. So I tried to restore it back, I did 3,4 times but every times it says " The iphone "iPhone" could not be restored. An unknown error occurred (1015)".

    Can anyone help me please please??? I got so frustrated I don't know what to do.

    Thank you!
     
  2. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #2
    It would be help if you can tell us more about your Iphone. Is it a 2g, 3g, 3gs or Iphone 4 and which firmware & baseband you have on it before you have this problem. Base on these infos, we might be able to give us advise.
     
  3. nhpl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #3
    Hi,

    It's a 3g 16gb. The one sold it to me said it is jailbroken 4.2.1. So it would be 4.2.1 firmware, right? I don't know about baseband.

    Thank you!
     
  4. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #4
    Most likely you have a an Ipad baseband installed because it was jailbroken/unlocked and your phone has IOS4.2.1.

    Why don't you download tiny umbrella to your computer and use it to kick it out of recovery mode or fix the 1015 error? let's start with it first.
     
  5. Boereman macrumors member

    Boereman

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth, South Africa
  6. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #6
    Use can use TinyUmbrella to kick it out of recovery but if you do that it'll be in a constant bootloop.

    You'll need a custom 4.2.1/6.15.00 ipsw for the 3G to restore again. Then use TinyUmbrella.
     
  7. nhpl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #7
    Crystal & Boereman: it's not working.

    PsstGreek: Can you give me a step by step instruction, please? Where do I get a custom 4.2.1/6.15.00 ipsw? And I think I may not know to to use TinyUmbrella correctly. Please help because I'm so new to this.

    Thank you very much for helping guys!!!
     
  8. Boereman macrumors member

    Boereman

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth, South Africa
    #8
    Try youtube:D

    EDIT: Did you get the green screen before you tried to restore?
     
  9. DramaKing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #9
    Error 1015 could be related to a newer baseband/modem firmware than you current iOS. You could try installing the 4.3 beta.
     
  10. nhpl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #10
    .. still looking for where to download that custom 4.2.1/6.15.00 ipsw..

    Yes, I got that green screen, I continue to restore but iTunes pop out another error.
     
  11. PsstGreek macrumors 68040

    PsstGreek

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    #11
    Once TinyUmbrella is open hit "Exit Recovery"
     
  12. Boereman macrumors member

    Boereman

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth, South Africa
    #12
    Which error code?

    EDIT: Here is the IPSW
     
  13. nhpl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #13
    Thank you so much!!!

    @Boereman: I'm sorry. I forgot the error code.
     
  14. Boereman macrumors member

    Boereman

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth, South Africa
    #14
    If you're getting error 6015 then you've got a bit of hardship in store as I did. Took me about 7 attempts using iReb, RecBoot and the 4.1 IPSW.
    I just realised that you need to use the 4.1 IPSW with iReb.
    Forgot to tell you.
     
  15. nhpl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #15
    Oh, I was trying it again & the error code is 1611.
    Thank you, I'll try that 4.1 Ipsw, see if it works...

    ...still downloading that custom 4.2 ... it takes forever to download...
     
  16. Boereman, Feb 2, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2011

    Boereman macrumors member

    Boereman

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth, South Africa
    #16
    The 4.2 IPSW is not a custom one, you do not need a custom one.
    You will need to use redsn0w to install BB 6.15

    I presume youre using windows?
    If so, then follow this guide to fix the 1611 error and make sure you have permissions to edit files in the windows directory.

    EDIT: You will loose GPS functionality when you flash to the 6.15 BB
     
  17. nhpl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #17
    I fixed the 1611 error, now I'm using redsn0w.... but what do I do next?
     
  18. Boereman macrumors member

    Boereman

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth, South Africa
    #18
    Find the IPSW you used for redsn0w and then click next, select Install iPad base band (and enable home screen wallpaper if you want) and click next. follow the instructions and it will then download the iPad BB from the apple servers. The file is around 15MB. Just let it finish and you should be home free
     
  19. nhpl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #19
    It's frozen now for some reason... On redsn0w, it says "uploading ramdisk" and my iPhone screen, it's dark plan w/ nothing...
    Did I do something wrong?
     
  20. Boereman macrumors member

    Boereman

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Location:
    Port Elizabeth, South Africa
  21. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #21
    Yeah, just try to redo it. I happened to me as well. Sometime Redsn0w crashes in the middle of jailbreaking.
     
  22. nhpl, Feb 2, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2011

    nhpl thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #22
    OMG!! It works finally!!! Thank you so much for all your help guys!! I'm so happy!!!
     
  23. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
  24. santie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #24
    The reason Redsnow gets stuck is because it is not being run in "Windows XP SP2" compatibility mode. Right click redsnow.exe->properties->compatibility and select "windows xp sp2" and it should work fine.
     

Share This Page