help, can't use keyboard in VMware FUSION!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Midgetinabikini, Jul 18, 2008.

  1. Midgetinabikini macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    #1
    i think it started after upgrading the leopard to 5.4, just can't use keyboard in any way or form.

    and i can use the mouse to copy&paste, or use it with the virtual keyboard, but that's it...
    i have 3 systems there: 1. Vista 64 from bootcamp (while in boot camp, the keyboard works fine(
    2. xp sp3 (vm)
    3. linux 2.6 (vm)

    i have Fusion 2 Beta 1

    any suggestions?
     
  2. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #2
    Are you having trouble with the keyboard when Fusion isn't running? Or is the problem when you're running Fusion only?

    At the bottom of the Fusion window there are several icons representing hardware ports, including USB - you may have to tell Fusion to "turn on" the USB port where your keyboard is plugged in.
     
  3. Midgetinabikini thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    #3
    it's only in Fusion machines.

    and i dont have any usb keyboard...(MBP) but ill try to connect one and see if it works.


    well...nothing. i've connected USB keyboard. i can see keyboard in the virtual machine (both xp and vista) but it does nothing...
     
  4. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #4
    I get the same thing when I open a Fusion machine even for things like iSight. As long as the proper USB icon is blue at the bottom of the window it should be working. This is a new one on me.
     
  5. mankymanning macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #5
    Exact same thing ha happened to me, I can't work any more. If I can't get this fixed then I will have to move to Windows :(
     
  6. mankymanning macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #6
    Just discovered mine was down to latest build of OSXBMC, some process called XBMCHelper.
     
  7. iLunar macrumors 6502

    iLunar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    #7
    I had this same problem. Turns out it was a problem with Firefox3. I did a google search and someone was having the issue with Opera. It was something about secure keystrokes in the browser or something. I reverted back to Firefox 2 and haven't had a problem since.
     
  8. jashan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    #8
    I also had the same symptoms, and it's definitely a Firefox 3 problem for me. It doesn't happen all the time - most of the time I have Firefox 3 and VMWare Fusion running side-by-side nicely, but every one in a while, Firefox 3 does something odd and then I can't type into VMWare Fusion anymore.

    However, as soon as I shut down Firefox 3, I get control again. Mouse works fine in Fusion all the time.

    Guess Firefox 3 is not a good browser when you're using VMWare Fusion (but I'm having other odd problems with it, too).
     

Share This Page