Help choose first Mac for design work

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Joemero, Jul 30, 2009.

1. Joemero macrumors regular

This will be my first mac ever, so I'm having trouble deciding which would be the best option to go with for a mac newbie looking to get primarily into freelance graphic & web design.
    I'm a grad student so I can get the student discount on macs.

Choice 1: mini $599 model upgrade RAM to 2gb + 24" Samsung or Dell monitor

Choice 2: New 13" MBP $1099 (student price) 2.26ghzm,2gb,160gb, + 24" same as above (and get free ipod touch)

Choice 3: Refurb 15" MBP $1449, 2.53ghz, 4gb, 320gb, no extra monitor for a while since I think the 15" will be good enough to get me going for a while.

Budget is a concern since I still have to purchase adobe CS4 for $350, and I want to make the most efficient purchase possible. Portability would be nice, but not essential as I have a pc notebook I carry around for work already & most of my design work will be done at home. On the other hand, I really dig the portability of the 13" but am concerned about the processor speed, screen size & whether the graphics card is as good as the 15" or not for handling Adobe CS4 Web Premium.
    The mini, seems like a great option budgetwise, and since this is my first mac, feels like the right choice to step into the macworld, is it beefy enough to handle adobe CS4? How about the graphics card in the mini? Is 2gb enough too?

Thanks beforehand for any advice to this apple newbie!

2. geoffreak macrumors 68020

geoffreak

My Mac Mini breezes through CS3, but I've heard CS4 is no big deal as well.

If I were you, I would get an iMac. You will get more power than the MBP for less $ and the screen size won't be an issue. You could save even more with an iMac refurb.

Keep in mind there are no student discounts on refurbs, and the iPod promo doesn't apply to them.

3. Joemero thread starter macrumors regular