Help choosing a projector for PowerBook

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by aurora borealis, May 5, 2009.

1. aurora borealis macrumors newbie

Hi there! I am not new to Macs but I am new to projectors of any sort. I find myself in need of one for a course I'm teaching.

I have a PowerBook Titanium G4 running Tiger. My budget is not too big, and I don't need a top of the line machine anyway. What would you suggest for a relatively simple projector that's also reliable?

2. lucidmedia macrumors 6502a

how large is your class?

My usual class size runs between 15 - 20 students. I like to run projectors that are between 2000 - 3000 lumen. This insures that the projector is bright enough to work in a not-so-dark room.

I have had good luck with Epson LCD projectors, all portable in size. I did use a DLP projector once and did not like it - i am one of the people who can see the "rainbow" effect of the spinning color wheel... not everyone sees it, but I found it really annoying.

Make sure you dig up the DVI to VGA adaptor! You will need it. I could make a killing renting out laptop dongles to teachers about to walk into their lecture hall without one!

3. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe

Not if the OP buys a projector with a DVI port.

4. aurora borealis thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for replying! My class will be from 5-10 students, and the room is probably only about 15x15, something like that. I should probably look ahead, though, to future classes that might be in a bigger room.

Thanks for the hint about the adapter. I will keep that in mind. If anyone else has suggestions, I'm still listening.

Thank you!

5. arjen92 macrumors 65816

arjen92

He,