HELP... Connect Korg nanopad to Garageband

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by blacktape242, Feb 7, 2011.

  1. blacktape242 macrumors 65816

    blacktape242

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #1
    I need the idiot guide to setting my new korg nanopad to garage band so i can do my own drum beats.

    I have already downloaded the driver / patch for garageband but i still cant get any sound. I also looked at the input midi section of the prefs, again with no luck.

    can anymore give me the detail process to get this up and working please?


    thanks in advance!

    .a
     
  2. Plumbstone macrumors regular

    Plumbstone

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    #2
    The first thing to do is open up your Audio MIDI Setup which is in your utilities folder. Click on the MIDI tab and check you can see the nanopad listed there.

    It shouldn't really need drivers but if you cant see it listed try re-installing or trying a different usb lead. If it shows up then it is a question of configuring garageband.

    I don't use it myself but if your nano shows up in Audio MIDI setup then it will be automatically seen by Garageband.

    It should just be a question of selecting a software drum machine with sounds corresponding to the midi notes your nanopad is sending out.
     
  3. blacktape242 thread starter macrumors 65816

    blacktape242

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #3
    it does not show up in my midi set up :( It also didnt come with any software.
     
  4. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #4
    I used to have the nanopad and had no problems getting it to work with GarageBand. I had loads of problems with the nanopad itself but that's another story. :)
     
  5. blacktape242 thread starter macrumors 65816

    blacktape242

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #5
    not sure whats going on here but its frustrating.

    what problems with the nanopad have you had?

    with GB, did you just plug and play?
     
  6. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #6
    I loaded the driver from the Korg website and plugged the nanopad in. GarageBand recognised it as a MIDI controller so I was able to use it with the software drum kits.

    I (and many other people) had problems with a number of the pads not working. I managed to get a replacement which I sold on eBay and replaced it with a Boss DR-670.
     
  7. blacktape242 thread starter macrumors 65816

    blacktape242

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #7
    i will try it out! good thing i didnt spend money on it. i got it for free when i bought my micro korg :)
     

Share This Page