Help connecting to a windows print server

Discussion in 'OS X Mountain Lion (10.8)' started by chrisgar4, Jul 10, 2013.

  1. chrisgar4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #1
    Hi All,

    So first I want to mention I am not a mac person at all, so if you could be as clear as possible with your responses that would be much appreciated!

    I am trying to connect a macbook with mountain lion to a windows print server. I am going to finder, then go, connect to server and typing in smb://username:password@serveripaddress/

    After that I get a window that pops up and says select the volumes you want to mount on (the servers ip addresss). I click on print drivers and then that is the end of the road :confused: We are using an equitrac printing system so basically on windows, you connect to the print server, you put in your domain credentials, it installs a printer called followme on your workstation and then you are able to walk to any printer in the office, swipe your printing card and your documents are released. On windows this is a cake walk to setup. On mac, I cannot get this to work for the life of me. if anyone can help, it would be veryy much appreciated!
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    You do not use the Finder to setup a printer. You use the Print & Scan preferences pane in newer versions of OS X. In older versions, you use Printer Setup Utility.
     
  3. chrisgar4 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #3
    Yes but this is a print server I need to connect to. On windows, you connect to the print server, then when you press print the job sits in queue until you swipe your card at the printer of your choice, then the job is released from the print server. Hope that helps to clarify a bit.
     
  4. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Every networked printer communicates with with the computer through a print server. My original advice stands.
     
  5. chrisgar4 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #5
    The print server is new here. Before we had this print server, all employees were still printing via network printers, there just wasn't a server dedicated to printing. We simply had users going to the ip address of the printer and then it takes you through the setup of a network printer. Either way though, if I go through print and scan as you have suggested, then what? Am I using the print servers ip address and connecting as a network printer? How should I go about setting that up. At this point I have tried every educated guess I can come up with and nothing works.
     
  6. jan.c, Jan 15, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2014

    jan.c macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    #6
    Print to equitrac-server from Mac

    Hi, did you find a solution to your problem? We are using equitrac as well and have no problems to connect to our windows print server from a Mac. But you have to know how to set it up ... : Here is a short description

    1) Open Print&Scan in System Preferences
    2) Add a new printer by clicking the "+"-symbol
    3) Right-click on the grey menubar and choose "Configure taskbar ...". Drag and drop the Advanced-tool to the menubar.
    4) Click on the Advanced-icon.
    5) Fill out the form:
    Type = "Windows printer via spools"
    Url = "smb://<windows-server-ip-address>/<shared-name-equitrac-printer>
    The rest is simpel. An exampel how it could look is (in danish, sorry):[​IMG]

    Now, when you print, you will be prompted for a username and password. Maybe it will only work, if you write <domain>\<username> instead of username.

    Kind regards
    Jan.
     

Share This Page