Help Connecting to Windows Workgroup & Printer

Discussion in 'macOS' started by nidserz, Jul 22, 2008.

1. nidserz macrumors 6502a

nidserz

Hi everyone.

I am pretty new to OSX, just been 1 month and a bit. I haven't had much time to worry about anything or play around my new toy, but now I have finally been trying to connect to my Windows Workgroup at home, but can't seem to get the other computers to show up under the "Shared" in Finder.
    Also I can't find the shared printer on the network.

Here is my set up:
    I have an iMac 20" 2.66ghz which I want to be able to access: a Vista Home-Built Computer and 2 XP laptops.
    I have my Modem connected to an Airport Extreme and an Airport Express is used to extend the wireless network.

Note: I have been able to see other computers on the network previously (without the Airport Express in use). Also, I was physically closer to the other computers
    I have also been able to connect to the Vista computer by going through Go-> Connect to-> smb://ip.of.computer, but needed username and password and up popped up an unfamiliar disk mount thing :confused:

I have tried the following:
    - Created a new location and entered the workgroup name in the WINS tab in Network Preferences. However, I don't have a server so I didn't have an IP or anything.
    - Made sure I have File Sharing turned on and Printer Sharing under firewall settings.
    - I tried removing the Airport Express, but still couldn't connect.

Also, I would like to connect to the printer that is connected to the Vista Computer via USB. When I go to Add Printer, no printer is detected. I figured maybe once I am on the network I should be able to find the printer, but I am not sure how to add it.
    Note: I don't think it is a driver issue because I had once connected the printer to my Airport Express (without Airport Extreme) and I was able to print wirelessly.

So finally to sum it all up...