help creating ringtone with garageband!!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by awgoo, Apr 6, 2008.

  1. awgoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    houston, tx
    #1
    hey guys, i am trying to create a ringtone using garageband and am running across a problem. :confused: i am dragging an mp3 into garageband, it loads, and after i shorten my song to about 20 seconds and have the cycle region turned to on, i click on share, but the send ringtone to itunes is grayed out. i have the latest version of itunes and my iphone is 1.1.3. is there something else i need to do? can i import an mp3 into garage band or does it need to be a different file type? any input and or suggestions will be much appreciated. thanks!
     
  2. deathandtaxes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    #2
    I just followed your steps and it worked on my Macbook Pro. I made some ringtones from .mp4 files earlier, but this time I used a .mp3 file. It worked the same, but it took some extra time at the conversion stage. Do you have the latest version of Garageband? 4.1.2 In fact, the yellow cycle bar stays in place for each new track I import into Gargeband so I can just drag the beginning and end point to where I want them and then send the ringtone to iTunes. Have you tried other tracks?
     
  3. awgoo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    houston, tx
    #3
    still no luck

    Thank you for the advice! I do have the 4.1.2 version of garageband and itunes version 7.6.2 and have tried other tracks. i think i will reload leapord on my mini and maybe that will work.
     
  4. deathandtaxes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    #4
    Why don't you try something simple first like trashing the Garageband preferences? I would also try re-installing Garageband and running the updater again before I messed with OSX itself.
     
  5. hckypris98 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    #5
    just tried to send ringtone itunes

    Hello,

    I just tried to send ringtone to itunes via GarageBand as well. i have Garageband 4.1.2 as well. It looks like it is sending it when itunes opens up...there is no new ringtone in there? What am I doing wrong?
     

Share This Page