Help decide between 15" and 13"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by mrsands, May 7, 2010.

1. mrsands macrumors newbie

I'm a uni student deciding on which laptop to get. At the moment, I have a 2 year old 15" laptop with 2.6ghz, 4gb ram (it has a slightly faulty lcd and battery only lasts 30 minutes now), 9500M GS vid card, a 10" netbook as well as a 26" LCD monitor that I connect my 15" to. Ive decided that the netbook is too slow for my needs. So I'm going to get a new laptop. I was torn between the i7 15" and the 2.4 13"... they're both on the other side of the spectrum, but I have differing priorities... from my experience a 15" is slightly too big to carry around, on the other hand I'm concerned that a 13" would be slow (its pretty much just slightly faster than my 2 year old laptop which i purchased for roughly the same price 2 years ago). I'm currently thinking of a compromise.

The 15" i7 I want would cost around 2500 ( student price with high res screen). While the 13" would cost around 1400, if I buy a 13" I can basically get a pretty decent i7 Quadcore desktop for $1100, or I can even save up for a few more months and get an even beefier desktop, but while waiting for that I will have to run the 13" on my monitor when I'm home...

or I could just get the high end i7 15" and not hassle about having 2 computers again. The 15" also has a newer processor which means it will be less likely to go obsolete (I intend to keep the laptop for 2.5-3 years). I can maybe sell my 26" monitor too, making the price of the 15" more affordable.

Help me decide please?

Other info: I'm a games development student so I use 3d apps like Maya, 3DS Max and UDK, however I don't play much PC games as I prefer consoles, perhaps the only game I will play will be SC2 and/or WoW (on and off player of that game). The only reason I'm getting a mac is to get into iphone/ipad development.

(Prices are in AU Dollars)

2. Mac.Virgin101 macrumors member