Help Deciding between 21.5" and 27" iMac (2011)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Swidy19, Dec 26, 2011.

1. Swidy19 macrumors newbie

Hi all,

So I've been using a 2007 MacBook for a while now (since 2007 in fact :)) and I think it's about time for an update as I put up with a lot of slowdown and lag with the tasks I have to perform.

I have decided to rather go with:
    - 21.5" 2.8GHz i7, or
    - 27" 3.4GHz i7

In other words, I'll get the high end 21" or 27" upgraded to i7, and I'll upgrade the RAM by myself.

I am a university student (CompSci), so the money is something I think about, however, I technically have more than enough for the 27", I'm just wondering if how I will use it will justify the 27" purchase, because even though I really love the display, I already use a 42" LCD as a dual monitor.

Basically, I will mainly be using it for the following:

- Programming in Xcode and a variety of other IDEs (I like LOTS of screen real-estate for this)
    - Computer graphics dev (2d and 3d)
    - Music Production (Reason 5)
    - Photoshop
    - I usually like lots of peripherals hooked up (ex. midi controller, keyboard, talkbox, snes controllers, etc)
    - Dual booting with Windows 7 (probably so I can use flashdevelop, visual studio, and possibly play some windows games)
    - since either will be a big upgrade from my current MB, I will prob play some steam games (though, this is not the computer's primary use, I have a ps3 for this)
    - Lots of youtube :).. and I would like to watch HD movies on it, however, I will have a 42"LCD right beside it, so I could see this possibly not happening as much as I think.

I should also note that I like having a lot of applications open at the same time.

So basically, for these uses, will I see a large performance increase between the 21.5" and the 27", and also, would you recommend 12GB RAM or 16GB RAM.