Help Deciding on the optimum Mac Pro configuration for Video Production

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Zagreus, Apr 30, 2009.

1. Zagreus macrumors member

Zagreus

Hello, I am a bit of a newbie to these forums but wanted a mac question answering and after looking around and a large use of the search button I still couldn't find the answer I was looking for. So I decided to post here. My basic question is this: I am going to be buying a Mac Pro within the next 3 - 6 months and so, what kind of configuration should my Mac Pro have if I am going to be running Photoshop, Final Cut Studio etc. With paticular reference to what brands of RAM and Hard Drives I should buy, because Apple's prices to me seem to be exorbatant. Thank you very much for your help? Also is the investment in Apple's Displays worth it or would a third part monitor suffice? Finally what kind of processor speed and number of cores would be necesary?

As an aside, where is the best place to purchase my Mac Pro, KRCS in Britian seem to give me the best deal, but are their other Mac retailers I could turn to for a better deal?

Thank you so much for all your help.

2. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

Dr.Pants

Final Cut Studio needs more questions. Are you planning on using HD media and if so, what codec will you be using? Also, what will be your workflow? I know that answering some of that can be a pain in the arse... But generally, you will need a RAID for HD media.

As for a monitor, go third-party. Not saying Apple's monitors are overpriced, but there are better to be had. It all depends on your budget.

From what I've heard, OWC RAM and Crucial RAM are pretty good, unless you want 4 GB DIMMs, which in that case you might need to be a little more picky. The amount of RAM? The mantra is "the more you have of it, the better".