HELP! Do I have a virus? (screenshot attached)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by red321red321, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. red321red321 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #1
    I was surfing the net when suddenly my screen locked and it asked for my password. But, it was an unfamiliar lock screen and so I just restarted my computer. Is this a virus trying to steal my password?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #2
    No such thing as a virus for Mac OS X in the wild. Just stay off of that web site. You did the right thing by restarting.
     
  3. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #3
    That's the login screen. If you've never seen it, you must have auto login enabled (it is by default).

    You maybe hit 'show log in window' or have a 3rd party app, such as Alfred, that displays it with a keyboard shortcut or hot corner.
     
  4. red321red321 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #4
    Yes you are right, it is the Alfred lock screen window and somehow I am accidentally triggering it. Would anyone have a clue as to how to disable this? Thanks.
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Open Alfred then command-comma to get to prefs. Then go to the Features tab and select the System section. You can uncheck "lock" or other system commands there you do want enabled in Alfred. Or you can leave it enabled and check "Confirm" there to get a confirmation popup when you run the command.
     
  6. red321red321 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #6
    Thanks for the reply. I tried doing that but the lock screen still comes up sometimes. I'm thinking it might be some trackpad shortcut or a hot corner or something. But I checked in Preferences->Mission Control and I do not have any Hot Corners enabled. So, I'm thinking it still might be something in Alfred?
     
  7. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #7
    It won't be Mission Control, as that activates the screen lock (screensaver lock), which isn't the same as the login window (press CTRL SHIFT EJECT assuming you have a screensaver lock).

    I've been using Alfred for a long time and never accidentally triggered the login screen. What is it you're doing when that happens?
     
  8. red321red321 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    #8
    I think that it usually happens when I am typing and maybe my hand accidentally touches the track pad. Not certain though.
     
  9. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #9
    Well see if you can recreate it so we see what you're triggering.
     

Share This Page