Help - Dock Crahed My Macbook

Discussion in 'macOS' started by cigahs, Jul 20, 2008.

1. cigahs macrumors newbie

Hey guys, I am fairly new to MAC - I have had my macbook for almost 2 months now. I found a site that explained how to change the look of the dock. I downloaded the new files, and then backed up the old files before moving them to the trash. Well, when I tried to move the files back after placing the new DOCK files there, it gave several error messages about BOOTx and other app files. I am guessing that I was not supposed to move ALL files, but only the .png files. Now my mac just sits on the white screen with the little apple. I am not too concerned with reformatting the drive and starting over, I was just hoping there was a easy fix, or atleast a way to get my movies and photos off of it. When I put in the recovery discs, I tried repair and verify with no luck.. I found a few threads on here about similiar issues, but none that would not reboot. Maybe those folks did not delete ALL files like I did in that resource folder.. Any help would be greatly appreciated. The closest apple store is over 2 hours away!

Here is the link to the thread I found that was KIND OF similiar, but all I could find with this issue!

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=395017

thanks a million!

Donn

2. txhockey9404 macrumors 6502a

Well an obvious solution would be to back up all your personal data and apps (not your custom docks), and then reinstall OS X with an Archive and Install so you can still access your old files, or just a complete setup where you delete absolutely everything and start over. This will completely reset your computer with no dock problems. Just be sure to not try this again if you cannot fix it, because installs take a long time, and are a pain.

3. m1ss1ontomars macrumors 6502