Help downloading electronic copy of windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by woohoo, May 25, 2010.

1. woohoo macrumors newbie

I will be purchasing a new macbook pro for school this week and I am going to need to run some windows applications on it so i have decided to use bootcamp/vmware to run windows 7. Since I am a student I got windows 7 at a discounted price on the Microsoft's website. I bought it not realizing that they are not going to send a physical copy of windows 7, but an electronic download. I am wondering whether it is going to be possible to download the electronic download of windows 7 on my macbook pro or did i just waste 65 dollars.

They have two different types of downloads, the first one is an .exe file which i know can only be downloaded on pc's. The other is a type of iso file, is it possible to maybe burn the file on a disc or flash-drive and then download it from the disk onto my mac? Or can I just open that file directly from my mac and then download? Here is a copy of what the two files look like:

DLMWin7Pro64US.exe

Save file DLMWin7Pro64US.exe to your Desktop. After saving, run the file to install your new software.

DLMWin7Pro64US-ISO.exe

Alternate download for clean installation (required for XP and Vista 32-bit users)

Any help is appreciated

Thanks very much

2. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

Microsoft uses a download manager, so that is what the .exe is for. The .iso is the file you want. You should be able to burn it to dvd as a disc image, but you will need to download it at a friend's house or a library on a windows machine.

3. jetblk328i macrumors 6502

I'm in your same situation. I blieve the 65$ windows 7 is actually an upgrade. I believe you need windows 7 or vista already installed for it to work

4. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

5. Macloven macrumors regular

Macloven