Help Exacting Firmware Update for Canon 5D3

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by IGregory, Jun 3, 2013.

  1. IGregory macrumors 6502a

    IGregory

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #1
    Gentlemen/Ladies:

    I am attempting to update the firmware on my Canon 5D Mark III. The update file is eos5d3-v1.2.1-mac. I've downloaded the file unto my rMBP 15" (Mid 2012). It is sitting on the desktop. When I click the file to open it, it asks for the application I wish to use to open it. It provides a choice between search the APP Store or choose an application.

    Does anyone know how I would go about finding the application to open the exec file. Thanks
     
  2. NeGRit0 macrumors 6502a

    NeGRit0

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nv
    #2
    Mac won't open .exe files. You need a .dmg equivalent. I think you might have downloaded the Windows version by mistake if you have the .exe

    When on this page make sure you select Mac OSX, and the your specific version.
     
  3. IGregory thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IGregory

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #3
    I'm an old Windows guy. For some reason exe is etched in my mind. Anyway, when I download the file the name is eos5d3-v121-mac.dmg. I click the file to open, and it brings me to a folder 5D300121.FIR. I click this file to open that is when it asks for the application to open it. Any suggestions.
     
  4. NeGRit0 macrumors 6502a

    NeGRit0

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nv
    #4
    I believe you just place the .fir file on the root of a memory card, and just insert it into the device. Then power it on, and click on the firmware version in the menu, and it should prompt you to update.
     
  5. ocabj macrumors 6502a

    ocabj

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    #5
    When you unarchive the dmg, there's a directory named "update-procedure-pdf" with directions on how to upgrade the firmware in five different languages.
     
  6. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #6
    that is correct. you don't actually execute the file with a program like you would a regular app on the computer.
     
  7. IGregory thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IGregory

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    #7
    Thank you gentleman finally success. My problem was I had managed to lock the memory card and that was the reason I could not load the file onto the card. I stopped by a nearby Apple Store and one of the salespeople figured it out right away.
     
  8. NeGRit0 macrumors 6502a

    NeGRit0

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nv
    #8
    Good to hear it all worked out! :cool:
     
  9. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #9
    sounds like you were using an SD card. Indeed 5DIII and IDX support both card types. If you want max speed of the buffer writing to a memory card, you want a UDMA 7 compliant 800x or 1000x CF card. This lets you shoot high speed (sports or wildlife), fill the buffer, and have a minimum delay while the buffer writes to the CF card before you fire off another round. If you are not doing lots of high speed shooting, the SD limitation may never be an issue.


    BTW, the 1.2.1 firmware works well at enabling 5DIII to do AF on the center point at F8. Previously F5.6 was smallest aperture to get AF to work. So now I can put the 1.4TC on the 100-400 and get 560mm with AF on center point. That works well enough for me shooting wildlife.
     

Share This Page