Help. External projector didn't react to MBA.

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by atmacsd, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. atmacsd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #1
    I've just recently purchased a MacBook Air, and needed to give a presentation. With my previous MacBook, I simply connected, and voila! When I hooked up the Air, there projector didn't register it at all. (There was a PC laptop there, and I just copied onto it with a flash drive, so the day was not lost.) I am now very afraid that the next time I try to present something somewhere, the same problem may occur! Does anyone know what I need to do?

    I know this may seem like a relatively stupid question, but I can't find the answer in the manuals etc....

    Thank you very much for any help!
     
  2. PittAir macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #2
    Try going to the display panel in settings--in Mac OSX, the computer will then find the projector.

    Comeing from an XP world, I had the same panic problem several days ago.
     
  3. atmacsd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #3
    Thanks!

    Thanks PittAir. Could be a life-saver.
     
  4. Krevnik macrumors 68040

    Krevnik

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    #4
    Connect projector/display to the MBA adaptor, then plug the adaptor into the MBA.

    I ran into the same issue, and it is all about what order things are plugged into each other. If the projector is plugged into the VGA adaptor first, then the MBA will detect the display right as you plug in the adaptor. Otherwise, when you plug it in, it doesn't think there is a display there and won't notice when you do plug it in.
     
  5. atmacsd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    #5
    Thanks too!

    Wow, that would not have occurred to me. I plugged the adapter in first, and then attached the projector to the adapter - which would be the incorrect order. I'll give that a try too. Thanks.
     
  6. Alkiera macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    #6
    Interesting, I'd not have thought of the order mattering... though I've done it the right way by accident, as the fit of the DVI end of the adaptor is kinda tight, so I've been leaving it plugged in to the end of the DVI cable for my flatpanel at home.
     

Share This Page