HELP: Firewire data transfer question (transfer screwed up target disc!)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by nhcowboy1, Feb 25, 2008.

  1. nhcowboy1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #1
    Hi! I need to back up my hard drive so I can clear it out and start over. I'm just wondering how long it should take to transfer everything to my laptop using Target Disc Mode. Only a little over 7 gb of my hd is in use - am I looking at overnight, a couple of hours, a few minutes . . . ? Never done this before, so I have no clue.

    Thanks!
     
  2. marykay9507 macrumors 6502a

    marykay9507

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
  3. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #3
    You are looking as between 30min and 2 hours depending on the speed of the HD.

    TEG
     
  4. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #4
    A FW400 drive will top-out at about 40 MBytes/sec, so the minimum time to
    read 7GB would be only about 3 minutes. OTOH, you're reading AND writing
    (to a laptop drive that probably isn't that fast); but even so, it shouldn't take
    more than 15 minutes.

    LK
     
  5. nhcowboy1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #5
    Thanks for the info - gotta go dig out that FW cable now!
     
  6. nhcowboy1 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #6
    Help! I've done the transfer and now I'm having problems with the target disc . . . .

    When I did the transfer, the new files seem to have replaced the existing files - and now, as far as I can tell, my permissions are screwed up. I can't load a page here without getting the message that my adobe plug-ins are missing. And apparently they are, but I can't re-install them because the permission settings are off.

    I really didn't want to do a mind meld between the two computers. I just wanted the transferred files to sit somewhere neatly by themselves until I was ready to reload them to the host computer. I have no data on the target computer that I'm worried about saving - I just need Safari to run smoothly again.

    What's the easiest way to fix this? Or will it fix itself when I transfer everything back to the host computer? (I know this is too good to be true.)

    I've seen instructions online for fixing permissions, but they were, to say the least, confusing.
     

Share This Page