Help first time trying this...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by illmatic715, Jul 17, 2010.

1. illmatic715 macrumors newbie

Hey everybody! Just got my 13" macbook pro feels great to be apart of the Mac world. Lovin everything about the OS its everything I could ask for. I just got in the mail a Hitachi 500gb 7200 rpm sata hdd 2.5 and an external enclosure....I have 250gb in the macbook but I wanted to transfer everything to the 500gb and not have to install a fresh copy of osx on it so I can use it as the primary drive. How do I go about doing this? I want to have 250gb as secondary (storage) drive. Thank you so much!

2. Identity Fraud macrumors 6502

I've never done it before so I hope someone can correct me if wrong, but couldnt you just get a USB case for the new HDD and transfer everything to it via time machine then just swap the new HDD in?

3. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013

Put the new one in the enclosure, and use something like carbon copy cloner to make an exact copy of your drive to the new one. Then swap drives and you're good to go.

4. illmatic715 thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks. i cant do that with time machine alust?

5. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013

Not what you want to do. Time machine will create a backup, but not a bootable disk, so that would really require a 3rd disk. I believe Carbon Copy is free as well.

6. illmatic715 thread starter macrumors newbie

Well i just plugged in my external drive and this message popped up
    "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer." Intialize... Ignore Eject.

I clicked initialize and I see Hitachi 500GB on the list but I really don't know what to do from here.

7. illmatic715 thread starter macrumors newbie

What do I format it as?
    I wanna also install bootcamp and use windows 7.

Do I make 2 partitions ? Sorry for asking many questions.

8. kny3twalker macrumors 65816

kny3twalker

just format the entire disk in HFS+