Help: Force iTunes to see iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by al256, Oct 5, 2007.

  1. al256 macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    #1
    After losing the ability to use my var folder,
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=363000
    and archieve installing 10.4 onto my iMac, I can longer sync my iPhone to my iMac. iPods work just fine; and I can see the iPhone is seen on the System Profiler but iTunes does not. I have plugged it in on a hub and directly on the computer to no avail. All my backups for the iPhone are no longer in iTunes. Surely there must be a way to force it to sync again to my computer. Any help?
     
  2. bdj21ya macrumors 6502a

    bdj21ya

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    #2
    Have you tried recovery Mode? (Hold down home and suspend for about 25 seconds (seems like forever) until a yellow triangle appears)

    As a side not, I dislike archived installs.
     
  3. al256 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    #3
    Will recovery mode endanger my data at all?

    On a side note, I didn't have too much choice or information.
     
  4. o JRoD o macrumors member

    o JRoD o

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #4
    Here is my trick that I use with my powerbook.

    1. Close iTunes
    2. Unplug the iPhone from your computer.
    3. Power off the iPhone.
    4. Connect the iPhone via usb to your computer.
    5. After about 5 seconds the iPhone will power on.
    6. Once the iPhone is back on, open iTunes. It should see your device.

    Hope it works.
    Jerod
     
  5. aftk2 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Location:
    Pacific NW
    #5
    You may also want to make sure you're plugging your iphone dock into the computer directly, rather than into a USB hub. My iphone wouldn't register until I did that, the last time I updated its software.
     
  6. al256 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    #6
    Nope...

    The solution lied in the fact that I need to reinstall AppleMobileDeviceSupport.pkg I had to download iTunes again and in the custom install options button I picked that package and fixed the problem. Hope this helps anyone searching the threads in need of this solution.
     
  7. al256 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    #7
    I actually connect the iPhone through a hub, and thankfully it works :)
     

Share This Page