HELP! Freezes on Blue Screen

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by SexyBeast, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. SexyBeast macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #1
    I just recently sold my 2008 MacBook and purchased a 2010 revision Mac mini on Craigslist. When I tested it out, everything worked great. The guy had not reinstalled OSX, so it still had all his info. So obviously the first thing I did was reinstall the OS and it's been nothing but problems. The first thing I noticed is that there is no start up chime like my MacBook had. Second right after the grey start up screen with the apple logo appears, it goes to a light blue screen and stays there. I have to start it up in safe mode. Once there, a log in screen appears. Once I'm in safe mode, everything looks the same. However there are no options for multitouch gestures for my trackpad. The OS just feels slow. I can't figure out how to get the app store to run lion. The icon is faded with a question mark and it says I need 10.7 to use the app store. I have a feeling this is purely a software issue. Anyone know what to do? Please help!
     
  2. xwinger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    Alberta
    #2
    i'm no expert but personally i would go buy snow leopard and install that for $30 since lion doesnt come on a disc.

    but if you wanna go all out, take it to apple and ask if you can get a copy of lion on usb since you cant connect to the apple store
     
  3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    I'd Try A re-install Of Lion

    Apple have now released an official boot procedure app using a USB stick.

    Step By Step Here:


    http://www.macrumors.com/2011/08/08/apple-releases-utility-to-create-lion-recovery-usb-key/
     
  4. SexyBeast thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    #4
    It came with snow leopard. To create the lion recovery, I need a Mac currently running lion. I tried to restore from my time machine back up, but since that was lion, it won't work
     
  5. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    In That Case

    You have two choices I guess. Try re-installing SL again, or buy Lion USB stick from your local Apple retailer.
     

Share This Page