HELP Hard drive not formatted after trying bootcamp

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Mold, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. Mold macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #1
    I was trying to setup windows in bootcamp and I have lost everything. I try to reinstall Leopard but there is no volume to install it on. When I use disk utilities it says the HDD isn't formatted. I am new to Mac's do they not run on NTFS? Do I need to try and install windows and reformat FAT 32. I am afraid I will lose all my data but most of it is still secure on my PC.
     
  2. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #2
    when you install the mac os you need to install it on a mac os extended journaled drive.
    use disk utilities to erase it.

    os x will not install on ntfs or fat32.

    with boot camp you should be able to partition the drive and make that partition into ntfs. and you should be able to install windows on that. i think i am waiting on my new machine to trey it out so i dont know. but good luck
     
  3. Mold thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #3
    No Access

    I can't access bootcamp as I can't start OS X or windows for that matter. I need to format my HDD to install OS X but as I am not sure how to do that I am sunk.
     
  4. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    do you have the cd's that came with it? you can boot from the cd.s and it will go through the install process. there is a menu on the top bar from the start up disk that says disk utilities. and you should be able to reformat the drive. then reinstall the os from disk.

    it's real easy.
     
  5. Mold thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #5
    On my way

    I am back reinstalling everything. worst of all I bought two download programs I need to try and get again. I now have my external 500GB drive for backup.
     
  6. bokdol macrumors 6502a

    bokdol

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    VA
    #6
    well good luck. when i get my new comp i will try out boot camp. what comp did you get? and if everything works out keep me posted would love to hear if it is all running smoothly
    :)
     
  7. Mold thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #7
    Bootcamp

    All up and running just one problem that I think I must post elswhere.
    I bought the largest iMac 2 gig ram 500 Gig HD
     

Share This Page