HELP!!!! I don't know what to do !! mac keeps shutting down

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by scribbleoneida, Dec 15, 2014.

1. scribbleoneida macrumors newbie

I purchased my macbook pro in january 2009. I have recently had an issue with it randomly shutting down, and then not starting back up until 2 or 3 times. It then starts but doesn't stay on very long. Do to the fact that it is an older laptop, Apple Genius bar is not willing to work on it!! I also have not been able to find my original install disks so I cannot run AHT

What I have tried:

Resetting PRAM
    Resetting SMC
    ran disk utility (harddrive is ok)
    replaced battery (which really seemed to be the issue)
    checked all updates
    I have looked through some of the system information and everything seems to be normal from what I can tell.

HELP I don't know what else to do or how to find out what's wrong! I am a photographer and I néed my laptop for work!!!

MacBook Pro, OS X Mavericks (10.9.5)

2. Bending Pixels macrumors 65816

Have you run the hardware diagnostics test from the Applications DVD? Insert the DVD, reboot and hold down the "D" key to go into the diagnostics program.

It could be anything from failing RAM to a component on the mobo to the power supply. Running a diagnostics test should tell you what it is.

3. Samuelsan2001, Dec 16, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2014

Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

Replace it....

It is 5-6 years old you use it for work it's time for a new one, you can claim the tax back and it'll soon repay you with speed increases and a faster workflow. Computers don't last forever especially laptops you should always have a capital replacement budget for them if your job relies on it.