HELP! I don't know which iMac to buy :[

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Teemisaur, Aug 13, 2011.

  1. Teemisaur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #1
    Hello! I'm contemplating on whether or not to buy a iMac. Honestly, I was planning on building a PC- which came out to be cheaper and it has better specs than the iMac. So I have two questions :]
    1. PC or iMac?
    2. If I'm going to be using 2-3 monitors and running cs5.5 Adobe After Effects, Premiere Pro, Photoshop, and Illustrator- which iMac is necessary?

    My budget is <$1500

    iMac: I was looking at the base model with upgrade to 8gb?

    The PC specs:
    Memory: G. Skill Sniper 8gb ddr3 1333 (what if it was 16??? :D??? ) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231417
    Video Card: I'm not sure but it will have Crossfire, 1gb, OpenGL4.1, and <$200
    Processor: AMD phenom II X6 1055Thttp://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103851
    MOBO: Asus http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131631

    If iMac is better how do I make the PC better- just to see if the difference is worth it or not. ALSO! I don't really plan to upgrade my Adobe software to higher CS because right now is all I need for a longggg time.

    Thanks!
    Tim
     
  2. OliverOSX93 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Location:
    Accrington
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_1 like Mac OS X; en-gb) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8G4 Safari/6533.18.5)

    You will need the 27 inch for 3 displays. But hook it up to 2 similar displays and you will be in photoshop heaven.
     
  3. Teemisaur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #3
    So does the other monitors have to be apple for top quality? I think I've heard from somewhere that offbrand monitors can be hooked up with an adapter. Also, the 21.5 inch can't handle 3 monitors? How many can it sustain? Thanks! :]
     
  4. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    iMac

    I do the same kind of work as you, high end video and photo, music editing etc.

    The 27" iMac is the one you want, okay.....you DON'T need 16gb as you see from my specs below, I have 8 and it eats real time stuff without missing a beat.

    I think you'd be okay with the i5 too. The savings come in software....Every time windows updates an os or has a major service pack to install, you are left waiting, and paying for more compatible software.

    Yes, you will pay more at first, but believe me, it's the way to go.

    If you would like a direct line to apples foremost sales specialist PM me.

    She won't hard sell you, she's a total expert, and will help you decide

    J

    ----------

    The upgrade to 2gb video ram is essential in our line of work. 512 just won't cut it, and you will be very disappointed if you don't the person I mentioned
    ( many here have been helped by her) will help you self spec your iMac.

    She will offer the software options too. :)
     
  5. Teemisaur thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #5
    I'd love to, but I just don't have the funds to do it. I'm just a student so I don't get paid very often (I'm more on the photography side and getting into video and such for church). From what I've earned which is about $750 my sister said she'd match me dollar for dollar, which ends up to be $1500. Is it possible to perhaps sacrifice some of the higher end software on the i7 model that could make it cheaper? Thanks very much- this is all new and valuable information!
     
  6. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #6
    Refurb


    Pm me, and ask about refurb machines major savings on great kit. :)
     

Share This Page