HELP! I need Java! But don't have an earlier version installed!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bs2511feist, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. bs2511feist macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    My name is Ben, I recently tried to post a youtube video that took up over 1GB of space, youtube told me that i could not post the video unless i had the "Advanced (Java) Uploader for resumable uploads."

    I am currently using a macbook version 10.5.8 on Mac OS X and i do not have any version of java already installed on my computer. The reason i am frustrated is that on the entire internet i can't seem to be able to find one java installation that is NOT an upgrade from an earlier version! The closest thing i could find is one where you need snow leopard to be able to install it. I don't have snow leopard.

    Please if anyone could point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated, it would be great if someone could tell me something i don't know, tell me what to do, or even just post the link to a website that they think could work for me.

    Thanks - Ben
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    All versions of Mac OS X have Java built-in and as long as you run Software Update, it should have the latest version installed.
     
  3. bs2511feist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    I've tried that, it seems like i might have files missing? i'm not sure
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    Why don't you try installing all of the updates? Even the older version included with 10.5.0 should allow uploading to YouTube.
     
  5. bs2511feist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    I've tried but they all say "you need an earlier version" because they are updates, which means all they can do is update from an older version, which i don't have
     
  6. Intell, Apr 13, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2011

    Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Software Update should never say that. You may have a more complex problem with your Mac if it can't install the needed updates.
     
  7. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    What you need to do is to stop disallowing updates. The quickest route is to download and install the combo-updater for MacOS X 10.5.8. Then run Software Update until it finds nothing more to update.
     
  8. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #8
    I thought that System Update only showed the next version up that your computer required; ie, if you had 10.6.4 installed it would show that 10.6.5 was available, but wouldn't show 10.6.6 until you had installed 10.6.5?
     
  9. willfurnell macrumors member

    willfurnell

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #9
    Even if it doesn't I would recommend doing updates in order, because if you miss just one, the other updates may rely on it, and to the OP, you should really do ALL those updates and see if it solves the problem.
     
  10. bs2511feist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    OK, i tried the software update, and of the 11 or so updates available, 8 of them did not update. I tried to do it again and with the 8 updates left i could install any of them because it keeps on telling me the software could not be updated because there are missing files in "/"

    A long time ago i think i was clearing out my mac for more space and i didn't know much about macs back then and i believe i deleted some folders i shouldn't have. However, I was smart enough to have backed up my computer on an external hard-drive which i have handy.

    I'm sure there's some way i could get those files back, i'm just not sure of that way specifically.... any suggestions?

    Thanks - Ben
     
  11. Littleodie914 macrumors 68000

    Littleodie914

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #11
    If you open a new Finder window, then click on the name of your hard drive (probably "Macintosh HD"), you should see these folders:

    • Applications
    • Developer (Maybe)
    • Library
    • System
    • Users

    Do you have all of them?
     

Share This Page