HELP!! I stripped my screw!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Sairo, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. Sairo, Jul 19, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2012

    Sairo macrumors regular

    Sairo

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Almere
    #1
    So I just got my 830 and wanted to format it.
    I put it in an external closure, but for some reason windows and mac keep giving me errors.

    Am I missing a special method or what?


    _____________________________

    I was trying to get out the superdrive but the bottom screw on the left is so stuck I tought I was turning it, but I just messed up the top.
    No way my Philips head will turn it right now.
    Any help/advice/tips?
     
  2. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
  3. Sairo thread starter macrumors regular

    Sairo

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Almere
    #3
    It even made disk utility crash.
    Formatting to ex-Fat Mac says; Disk Erase failed with error. Unable to write to the last block of the device.
    Formatting to NTFS Windows says; Error can't format.



    10 min further it worked somehow, but now my Samsung Magician Software can't find my SSD, but it does show up under Computer.
    Is the enclosure just not good enough?
     
  4. kdoug macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #4
    Happened to me yesterday with a brand new enclosure and an 830 SSD. Installed it, ran a couple of benchmarks and than it quit. Unplugged it and plugged it back in, OS X wanted to initialize it but it wouldn't initialize. Fortunately I had a GoFlex adapter laying around and that corrected the problem.
     
  5. Sairo thread starter macrumors regular

    Sairo

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Almere
    #5
    :eek:
    Unscrewing my 3,5 external right now.
    Just to be sure.

    ----------

    Can you check what the fw is your on?
    Not even my 3,5 case works.
    lll just go commando, install the drive and hope I'm on the latest fw.

    Do you know if the drive gets erased when updating the fw?
     
  6. kdoug macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #6
    I have no ideas what FW I have since the only way to update a Sammy 830 is plugged into a data cable of a Windows machine.
     
  7. Sairo thread starter macrumors regular

    Sairo

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Location:
    The Netherlands, Almere
    #7
    I was trying to get out the superdrive but the bottom screw on the left is so stuck I tought I was turning it, but I just messed up the top.
    No way my Philips head will turn it right now.
    Any help/advice/tips?
     

Share This Page