Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

vivian.

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 10, 2010
hey um if anyone one has any idea how to do this pleas please please tell me ! i want to like update it to a new macbok right and i asked the ppl at apple and they said all id have o do is like take the motherboard off a macbookpro nad then put it in this laptop nad like that kind of idea but im really new at all this computer stuff and really needsome help with all of it. like how to find a mother board and install it and a battery and if i had to install a new screen adn match the wires etc. please please tell me f anyone has ever heard of this being done before or how t could be thank you soo much ! :)

crazyrog17

macrumors regular
Jan 13, 2009
Michigan
if you really talked to a person at apple about it, they were high and drunk on the job.

there's no way that "all you have to do is put a macbook pro logic board in it" because you cant.

sure, you can make it fit, but it wont do anything but be a paper weight. there's no way it would connect to the keyboard, trackpad, display or anything else in there.

it'd have to be a true custom marvel to fit a macbook pro into the clamshell case. not impossible but barely plausible.

Hrududu

macrumors 68020
Jul 25, 2008
Central US
You can't do it. Its not going to fit any way shape or form.

Attachments

• 2311608774_f38bcf6eb0.jpg
    2311608774_f38bcf6eb0.jpg
    105.9 KB · Views: 57
  • ifixitmbpalum13-2.jpg
    ifixitmbpalum13-2.jpg
    103.2 KB · Views: 46

MacHamster68

macrumors 68040
Sep 17, 2009
my rough guess is it takes more then a couple weeks with a dremel to fit the macbookpro board in the clamshell case , not to mention the couple month you might need to dremel around to fit in a hdd and optical drive