Help ID this Drop down Menu ? Site is up...

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Jeff E, Aug 5, 2008.

  1. Jeff E macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #1
    Hello,
    My name is Jeff and I am a long time lurker here at Mac Rumors and finally have need to get involved.

    Would it be possible for someone to help Identify this drop down Menu on this site?

    http://www.brightscreek.com/ Site is back up...

    I know the site is all Flash I think. Can I replicate this in Dreamweaver so that it is this smooth? DO I need an extension program?

    Thanks

    Any help is greatly appreciated.

    Jeff E
     
  2. Jeff E thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #2
    Here is a screen shot.. and a poor shot of the drop down menu.. I think you can see enough to understand its semi transparent and such..

    Any ideas?

    Much appreciated..

    jeff e
     

    Attached Files:

  3. jaikob macrumors 6502

    jaikob

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Freeland, MI
    #3
    That is all done in flash, and there is no way to identify it.
     
  4. Jeff E thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #4
    Thanks.. but is there any way to do it in Dreamweaver? Using HTML?

    Jeff
     
  5. cromwell64 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #5
    these effects, or at least something very similar, can be achieved using xhtml, css, and javascript. you can have it work as smoothly as that but it is largely dependent on which browser is being used to view the page.

    if you have dreamweaver cs3, then it should have the spry javascript framework built in and it should make this fairly easy. i would suggest reading up on the spry framework if you already have it with your dreamweaver installation, or some other javascript framework like prototype or jquery. Although some of the documentation might seem complicated if you aren't familiar with javascript

    basically, most of the effects that you see done in flash can be replicated in javascript.
     
  6. Jeff E thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #6
    Cool thanks..
    I have been working in Dreamweaver with Spry and its getting there. I would really like to have it be transparent like that.. but as long as I can get close..
    I have added some extensions as well.. but have not found anything I really like yet.

    Thanks

    Jeff E
     
  7. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #7
    I found a neat little nav bar that added transitions and transparencies using the mootools framework. However it isn't wise to mix 2 frameworks together... So it would probably require you to rewrite what you already have using Mootools instead of spry.
     
  8. Jeff E thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    #8
    Thats pretty Cool...

    I looked at the website.. where did you see the drop menus?

    Thanks

    Jeff
     

Share This Page