[HELP] iMac keeps freezing, sound looping and I am forced to reboot

Discussion in 'iMac' started by macmee, Jun 9, 2012.

  1. macmee Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    It's a mid 27" i5 iMac

    everything on the screen stays exactly the same, and the sound loops and plays back the last few seconds. My warranty is expired and there's no applestores in the province I live in. I'm at my wits end and I'm horrified my mac is broken.

    I did put an extra 2gb stick of ram into my machine the other week which *might* of been around when these errors started, could that be it? Is there a way to check without having to open up the bottom of my mac again?

    p.s. every time I hold the power button and restart my mac after it locks up like this, I notice that spotlight is always "indexing" again.
     
  2. LaWally macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    #2
    Yes, it could be a memory problem. The surest way to tell is to remove the memory you added and see if the problem goes away. I've read that memory should be added in factory matched pairs. If you added a single stick, that could be the issue.

    You might also try running the Apple Hardware Tests
     
  3. DJLC macrumors 6502a

    DJLC

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    Mooresville, NC
    #3
  4. chevalier433 macrumors 6502a

    chevalier433

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    #4
    Don't panic there is nothing wrong with your expensive mac just remove the possible problem the memory stick you will not broke your mac if you open the memory slot again here i change drives do esata by myself and it seems easy.
     
  5. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #5
    If the memory is not the cause of your problems (But I think it probably is) You can also run the AHT (Apple Hardware Test) by booting from your original Installation DVDS.
     
  6. macmee thread starter Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    It happened again whilst I was running the memcheck so I've removed the module of ram. *hopefully* it doesn't happen again. Like the last few times, spotlight is re-indexing after I rebooted after it happened. Is there any particular reason why it re-indexes immediately after these freezing occurrences happen? The re-indexing makes my computer quite sluggish :p
     

Share This Page