Help iMac stuck in boot camp

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Nordichund, Oct 15, 2007.

  1. Nordichund macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #1
    Hello, my brand new 24" iMac finally arrived today. It's a beautiful machine and I'm a first time Mac user. Unfortunately when I was trying to install XP using Boot Camp, when I came to the "Welcome to Setup" and was supposed to press "Return" to set up Windows XP, my keyboard seems to have stopped working. I also tried pressing "R" and "F3" but nothing happened. I even turned the iMac off and restarted it, but the XP disc just booted up again and I arrived at the same place where I am now. I cannot even eject the CD from the Rom. So now I am just stuck with the blue screen, and I have had to post this on my old Dell. :(

    Is there any kind person who can help or knows how to eject the CD without damaging the machine?

    Thanks for your time
     
  2. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #2
    Hold down the mouse button on startup to eject the disc.

    Alternatively, you can hold down the "option" key to open the bootloader and select Mac OS X again.
     
  3. Nordichund thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #3
    Thanks a lot StealthRider, the CD just popped out a big relief I can tell you.
     
  4. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    #4
    Congrats on your new baby. That should be a sign. You just got a new iMac and the first thing you do is install Windows? Karma:D
    Also IF (hopefully) you plan to use OS X most of the time (hopefully) make sure to go to the StartUp Disk in System Preferences and select Mac OS X 10.4 as the startup disk otherwise it will revert back to......well...Windows.:rolleyes:
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    As for the root problem, it appears that you don't have SP2.
     
  6. Nordichund thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #6
    Thanks for the advice and the welcome. Actually the XP version I have is brand new with SP2.
    It´s been an interesting day today. When I plugged my iMac in and it tried to log onto the net, I ended up speaking to Apple support for more than 3 hours. I think it baffled them more than it did me. Still the two people I spoke with were very professional and enjoyed the challange. Then I tried to install XP through Boot Camp and this happened. It could have been worse I guess, I could have tried to install Vista.

    Saying all this I am still in love with this machine, even though we got off to a tough start. It is as quiet as a mouse and not a dead pixel to be seen anywhere. Since I´m not a professional photographer or graphic designer I think the screen is magnificant, no problem with brightness or glare at all and OS Tiger rocks. I´m looking forward to Leopard which I will install in a couple of months time.

    Oh yeah this is my first post on the Mac Forum using the Mac :D
     

Share This Page