Help In Aus Pro 5,1 (feel free everyone to point me in the right direction)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by macmannate, Dec 31, 2014.

  1. macmannate macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #1
    Hey Guys,

    I want to finally retire my 3,1 dual 3.00Ghz Quads 32GB ram she is a absolute Beast! Chops the 5.1 by a mile in 64bit geek bench and 32bit, Cinebench and aida 64 under windows it also has a flashed 7970, But here is the catch I have a 5.1 2.8Quad 10GB ram, I love this machine as the fact it just went under warranty and got a new logic board, case and psu... and has full warranty on it again... So Obviously I want to use the machine been newer ram is easier and cheaper and i want to be on a newer platform (my pc is a high end haswell)


    So i believe its time for the 3,1 to go to the missus or to some one else who will love it as much as i do, BUT this is the main question...

    Anyone got a dead dual CPU 5,1 i want to wipe the 3,1 with this machine for rendering and programming and VM's...... the 5,1 has sata 3 and all... i want to take advantage of all this good stuff!, So Obviously I need a Dual cpu card or a cpu 6 core that will destroy the dual quad 3.0's so its worthwhile making the switch?...

    So the main part is, I'm happy to throw cash to have this or swap the 3,1 with out the 7970 :)


    Give me your opinions, exp and info you guys have :)

    Thanks, Nathan
    :apple::apple:
     
  2. macmannate, Dec 31, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 1, 2015

    macmannate thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #2
    Benchmarks.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Synchro3, Jan 1, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2015

    Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #3
    Buy for your 5,1 Mac Pro on eBay an Intel Xeon W3690 or X5690 CPU (6 Cores @ 3.46 GHz) an you'll get:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. macmannate thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #4


    legend which is the better chip out of the 2?.
     
  5. Synchro3, Jan 1, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2015

    Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #5
    They are exactly the same chip, except for RAM support:

    - The W3690 supports up to 56 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 RAM (3 * 16 GB + 1* 8 GB)
    - The X5690 supports up to 64 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 RAM (4 * 16 GB)

    Therefore the W3690 is cheaper. :)

    I guess in your Mac Pro 5,1 you have a single CPU board, so you can buy the W3690 or the X5690. If you want to buy two CPU's for Dual professor board, is has to be the X5690's.

    There is also a variety of GPU's with Mac EFI ROM:
    http://www.macvidcards.com/index.html
    http://www.evga.com/articles/00730/#3682
     
  6. macmannate thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    #6


    Mate you have been an absolute champ, yeh I have a flashed and moded 7970 did it myself, if it was a dual cpu machine I think I'd be happy as, is it worth finding the daughter board? They seem pretty bloody exy, I'm hoping some one has a dead 5,1 dual cpu I'd be happy to trade a working 3,1 for it!

    Reason I think I would love the dual cpu machine is currently with the 3.1 I can off load a lot of vms when building servers and etc off to the second chip, how do you think the 6 core would go with this?.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Their T-case max also different
     
  8. Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #8
    Here you can find Mac Pro boards: http://www.dvwarehouse.com/Mac-Pro-Logic-Boards-c-5188.html&pltid=3fgrf4t9mejvnrec9v917bo516

    To the best of my knowledge: the Processor board has to be same revision as the Backplane board, means in your case from Mac Pro 2010/12 (5,1).
     

Share This Page