Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

deafmute

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 11, 2010
Im a university student. I do architecture, graphic editing and rendering.

The question is i want to buy the latest 27" iMac i7, is it worth to wait for the latest release or just buy the current model?
I googled and the most said that Apple will released new model in fall, which is late September, or some said they will released maybe a months or two. I need a high end mac (processor n graphic), moreover i needed it urgently before my final project, but if i do purchased it now, the spec of the graphic is quite old 4850 512mb or worth waiting for the ddr5 5x 1g series?
The issues is apart from i7 4cores, i need a better graphic card for my 3d rendering and gaming experience.

Any advice is really appreciated. Thanks.

JCCash

macrumors regular
Apr 20, 2008
Im a university student. I do architecture, graphic editing and rendering.

The question is i want to buy the latest 27" iMac i7, is it worth to wait for the latest release or just buy the current model?
I googled and the most said that Apple will released new model in fall, which is late September, or some said they will released maybe a months or two. I need a high end mac (processor n graphic), moreover i needed it urgently before my final project, but if i do purchased it now, the spec of the graphic is quite old 4850 512mb or worth waiting for the ddr5 5x 1g series?
The issues is apart from i7 4cores, i need a better graphic card for my 3d rendering and gaming experience.

Any advice is really appreciated. Thanks.

Have you thought about buying a MBP i7 and external monitor?

iMacdude313

macrumors regular
Apr 27, 2008
Well if hes doing a lot of graphics work he might want the screen space...

I'm assuming that's what he meant by the extra monitor. :rolleyes: