Help in Target Disk Mode

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by imaketouchtheme, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. imaketouchtheme macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #1
    Hello,

    I am trying to install Leopard on my G4 Quicksilver PowerMac G4. My computer does not have a DVD Drive only a CD Drive.

    I also have a G3 PowerBook Lombard that has a DVD Drive. (odd huh). I went into TDM and all went well, but when I click on the HD from the PowerBook, I don't see the Leopard install disk.

    Is there anything special I have to do before using it?

    Is there any way to just boot directly from the DVD Drive on the G3?

    Thanks,
     
  2. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

  3. imaketouchtheme thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #3
    I have already read that and I DO understand the concept of TDM....

    I am asking how to use the DVD Drive of the G3 using TDM.

    I know it's possible because I know some people that have done it they just aren't on right now.

    I asked the Apple guy at Best Buy about it and he said it WILL work.

    Thanks though.
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Old model Macs like that only show the boot volume in Target Disk Mode.

    New model Macs will show all disk drives in Target Disk Mode.

    I wasn't aware that any of them would ever show a disc in Target Disk Mode. Though as soon as my wife gets off my MBP I'll try it.

    Moral of this story, I think your PB is too old to do what you want.
     
  5. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #5
    You can't use the PB's drive in TDM. You could install to the PM's HD from the PB (with the PM in TDM). Your other option is to insert the disc after putting the PB into TDM, that way it may force the PM to recognize it, or use disc utility to mount the disc.

    TEG
     
  6. Victor ch macrumors 6502a

    Victor ch

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    San José, Costa Rica
    #6
    Isn't it the other way round? Put your PowerMac into target mode then run the install dvd and when it asks you for the destination you'll choose the one in the PowerMac (since its on target mode). OR if you want to (im not 100% if this one works) put you PB into target mode then hit "alt" on the PowerMac and select either the HDD of the PB (thus gaining access to the optical drive) or if it has the dvd inside choose that <-- Im not sure of this one. Hope this helped

    -Victor
     
  7. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #7
    PowerBook G3 won't run Leopard or the installer.

    TEG
     
  8. imaketouchtheme thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #8
    Well this stinks. So there's no way for me to install Leopard without getting an internal DVD Drive?

    I have already tried an external one but the PPC won't boot from USB devices.

    So that cancels out the iPod and external drive option.

    I can't do it in TDM.

    Anyone have any other suggestions?

    I really need this done soon.

    Thanks
     
  9. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    Pull the HD, take it to a friend's and install it on the HD on their Mac?
     

Share This Page