Help installing M.2 SSD in Mac Pro 5.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Ivan Ebrahim, Oct 3, 2016.

  1. Ivan Ebrahim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    #1
    Hi

    i bought this: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Samsung-2...873716?hash=item542d191e34:g:0QAAAOSwlV9WRF-V

    and this: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Up-to-270...052146?hash=item33bec71cb2:g:d64AAOSwBLlVQXxw

    I have the combination installed in PCI slot 4 in my mac pro and the computer seems to recognise the adaptor at least in System Report under PCI (Card: pci44d,a802 Type: NVM Express Controller Driver Installed: Yes Slot: Slot 4)

    But theres no drive showing in disk utility. Do i need drivers? Will it be possible to use this as a boot drive?

    Thanks

    E
     
  2. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #2
    That's advertised as AHCI for some reason when it's definately an NVMe part. There was a generic NVMe OS X storage driver someone wrote, but it was never kept up to date and stopped working a while ago.

    Currently, this will not work in a Mac, and certainly not as a boot volume. You'd need an AHCI model for that.
     
  3. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #3
    If it's an AHCI SSD, there's nothing more you have to do. OS X should recognize it once it has been plugged in.

    Here's a reference for you so you can double check to make sure it's indeed AHCI.
    20150621200757-01x4la1kj04.png
     
  4. Ivan Ebrahim thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    #4
    Thanks guys. It is indeed the NVME version. Irritating.
     
  5. cosmincucu macrumors newbie

    cosmincucu

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    #5
    hello,

    Sorry to revive an old thread, But i have a similar issue :

    I have a Samsung SSD SM951 MZHPV256HDG SSD in a mac pro 5.1 2012 model, but it is not recognised by the OS. As for PCIE adapters i have tried several :
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/LyCOM-DT-1...coding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=0Q510CXBZ2HYBARVGQBK
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01ELL5P4Y/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01NAV0XHX/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    It is still not seen in Disk Utility.

    Any ideas why ?

    P.S. I should point out that before the mac i used it with a LyCOM-DT-120 card in a HP Z620 , which has the same issue of working just with AHCI ssd's, and it worked fine.

    Thank you,
    Cosmin Cucu
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
  7. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #8
    Sorry, I mis-read. So first question is to see if it shows in System Report under SATA. Also try "diskutil list" in terminal. Since it was previously used in a PC it may need its partitions cleared out.
     
  8. cosmincucu macrumors newbie

    cosmincucu

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    #9
    I am already at work, i will try tonight. The thing is i have a separate 1 TB sata disk on which i put bootcamp and windows 10, and mac OS x sees it fine.
     
  9. JedNZ macrumors regular

    JedNZ

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Location:
    Deep South
    #10

    If you've got the NVMe version, check out this post for instructions on curating your own NVMe kext patch.
     
  10. cosmincucu macrumors newbie

    cosmincucu

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
  11. cosmincucu macrumors newbie

    cosmincucu

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    #12
    I have tried both, it does not show up.

    Any other ideas ?

    btw, here is a picture of the ssd as well.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #13
    Move it back to a PC and delete all partitions. Might be able to do it in Bootcamp.
     
  13. cosmincucu macrumors newbie

    cosmincucu

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    #14
    i just tried it on a pci x16 slot, and it works .... it sees all the windows partitions, etc.
    So should it work just on a pci x16 slot?

    (fyi i could not see it in bootcamp either)
    --- Post Merged, May 16, 2017 ---
    Is there any way the pci x4 slots would not work ?
     
  14. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
  15. cosmincucu macrumors newbie

    cosmincucu

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    #16
    i just did, with the ssd in the second pci x4 it is still not recognized.
     
  16. saulinpa, May 16, 2017
    Last edited: May 16, 2017

    saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #17
    Hardware problem? Make sure there is no dirt/corrosion in the connector. The DT-120 works for me and others.

    Maybe conflict with non-Apple video card? I assume you pulled all other cards.
     

Share This Page