Help! Installing new SSD; Computer doesn't recognize Yosemite boot USB

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by SamVilde, Jul 9, 2015.

1. SamVilde macrumors regular

SamVilde

Hi - I guess there are better message boards for this, but - under the helpful advice of some nice people here, I just purchased a Crucial BX100 SSD for my perfectly-healthy 2008 aluminum Macbook.

I am not a techie, but it didn't seem too difficult. I made a bootable USB of Yosemite using diskmakerX. I have my time machine (and crashplan) backups. I didn't have a SATA-USB cord so I didn't make a clone, but I feel adequately backed up with multiple copies of my stuff.

Install seemed painless. Everything seemed fine.

But when I turn on the computer and hold down the <option> key, it starts up with no notice of my (Yosemite boot) USB. I get the little black arrow icon on a clean white screen.

I tried holding both the <option> and the <command> keys: I get the black apple logo (yay!) and progress bar for about 5 seconds - then the computer shuts down.

I plugged in the external with the time machine backup, holding down the <option> key. My drive's name and icon pop up (yay!) with an arrow below it. I click on that. I get the black apple logo (yay!) and progress bar for about 5 seconds - then the computer shuts down.

I feel like nothing is seriously wrong, but I seriously don't know what to try next.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

2. SamVilde thread starter macrumors regular

SamVilde

So frustrating because (1) I feel like I did all the things right, and (2) if I did all the things right, then did I just kill a fully-functional computer?

3. Dark Void macrumors 68030

Dark Void

Hello again,

Is your previous install still intact, and have you done anything in Disk Utility yet? You did not kill your computer, it will get straightened out.