Help :) Installing windows OS

iMacDuck

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2012
10
0
Hey guys,
I have a 2011 Macbook. I need to install Windows 7 for some programs I use but when I try it comes up with a blank black screen with a dash, this started when I installed Windows 7 used it for afew months and then one day it came up with it, so I got all my files off of it, and restored the partition and re-partition (Using Bootcamp also used Disc utilities) but same thing, black screen with a white dash after reimaging Macbook (Formatting and reinstalling Macbook OS through Network) same thing, my IT Tech says it's fine, but another one says it's not, I know it's a hardware issue, but I need some help? Also sometimes it can get to Windows loading files but it freezes. Used USB and external DVD drive to install, no luck
 

revbarabbas

macrumors regular
Apr 27, 2009
179
0
Ok, I feel like I'm missing some information. You removed the BOOTCAMP partition in what way? Did you delete the partition in Disk Utility or with Bootcamp Assistant?

Either way, you can go into Disk Utility and click on the HD (it's usually the top most item in the left hand sidebar with the size of the drive first) then click on the "Partition" pane in the main window. What do you see here? Two partitions? A single partition with grey space above or below it?
 

iMacDuck

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2012
10
0
I removed it with Bootcamp and I saw 1 partition when restoring

2 with disk utility
 

revbarabbas

macrumors regular
Apr 27, 2009
179
0
When you say "restore" do you mean to say that you booted into the recovery partition, ran Disk Utility to partition the drive to a single (visible) partition, format that partition as Mac OS Extended, and then reinstall Lion on a clean hard drive. Then after the reinstallation you "restored" from Time Machine?

Either way, what are ALL of the partitions called?

I'm going to go ahead and give you the long solution ahead of time, but get back to me before doing this:

1. delete any previous Bootcamp partitions and resize the Mac OS partition in Disk Utility so that it fills the drive completely.

2. make sure you have a Windows 7 DVD (either a retail disc or a legal downloaded image file from Microsoft burned to DVD)

3. launch Bootcamp Assistant and resize the drive, and install Windows 7 by following the steps

When you go to boot into Win7 or Lion just hold down the "Option/Alt" key before the startup chime and hold it until the drive icons show up and pick which one you want to boot into (if you need to use windows click the appropriate icon and the arrow beneath it, or the same for Lion)
 

iMacDuck

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2012
10
0
I restored it using bootcamp to single partition. To format the Mac I just plug it in the network and network boot the mac and it wipes the computer to default.
1. Did that,
2. Used that
3. did that but just comes up with black screen with underscore thing like it can't read the disc
 

revbarabbas

macrumors regular
Apr 27, 2009
179
0
Ok, was this a retail disc for Win7 or did you burn it by buying a downloadable version? If it was retail check the data side of the disc for scratches, if it was a burned disc try burning a new one and trying again.

Edit: When burning use the slowest speed and allow the disc to be verified for best results.
 
Last edited:

iMacDuck

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2012
10
0
I have tried retail and burned discs, still the problem

edit: I have used the discs on other comps and it boots fine, just not my macbook :(
 

iMacDuck

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2012
10
0
When it starts up, it reads the disc but then stops spinning when black screen with underscore
Edit: I'll try that thanks, and I'll get back to you
 

revbarabbas

macrumors regular
Apr 27, 2009
179
0
Some folks just have to wait a bit longer than normal....give it about 10 minutes and see if it eventually boots into the installation...if it just sits there and my edited solution doesn't work for you then I'm at a loss for solutions.
 

iMacDuck

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2012
10
0
Main problem is that it can't boot an OS I have tried USB,external and internal as stated in first post, It's not the HDD I replaced that what else could it be?
 

revbarabbas

macrumors regular
Apr 27, 2009
179
0
Hold on, you can't boot into ANY OS?

----------

Ok, walk me through this.

With NOTHING plugged into the laptop or any discs in the optical drive and the power OFF, press the power button. What comes up?
 

iMacDuck

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2012
10
0
Not windows or Linux with partition
Mac OS comes up, Mac OS is fine, just can't do another OS
 

revbarabbas

macrumors regular
Apr 27, 2009
179
0
Go here: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4848 and download the Lion Recovery Disk Assistant via the link at the bottom of the page. Then follow the page's instructions to create an external recovery disk

When you boot into the external recovery disk I need you to open Disk Utility. Click on the primary internal hard drive (usually at the top of the sidebar) and click on "Repair Disk" in the main window. This will check a lot of things like the catalog file and GUID Partition table and will fix it if it can. It's best to use the external for this so we are not using the internal hard drive at all during this process. It takes a long time to complete this process so just wait until it says that it has either fixed the problems that showed up or it says that everything is ok. After that run it a second time for safety. If no errors show up and all the results are green, then try the Bootcamp process over again.


If this doesn't work and this is a fresh installation, I'm just going to have to ask you to completely wipeout the entire drive and install Lion from the external recovery disk, completely remove ALL the partitions on the internal drive. I am at a loss for solutions as to what has gone wrong here if the scan doesn't find anything wrong.
 
Last edited:

revbarabbas

macrumors regular
Apr 27, 2009
179
0
p.s. if you use Adobe products from CS3 and prior (CS4 might do this as well) in Windows the problem might be caused by them. CS3 stores the serial numbers in the Master Boot Record (which is really stupid on their part) and this can muck up a multi-booting machine.
 

biohead

macrumors 6502
Jun 18, 2010
428
6
West Drayton, UK
Boot into OS X, start bootcamp assistant. Wipe the Windows partition through the Bootcamp Assistant option, if it shows as it still being there.

Close BCA, then start it up again - this time choose to install Windows 7 and follow it's instructions. It should sort out the partition problems at least - don't touch Disk Utility.
 

fteter

macrumors member
Mar 12, 2008
68
0
p.s. if you use Adobe products from CS3 and prior (CS4 might do this as well) in Windows the problem might be caused by them. CS3 stores the serial numbers in the Master Boot Record (which is really stupid on their part) and this can muck up a multi-booting machine.
Had this issue myself with CS4. Wound up forgetting the Bootcamp idea and set up a virtual machine for Windows instead. Much easier and I'm much happier. Best Windows machine I've ever owned is my Mac.

If you don't want to pay for VMware Fusion or Parallels, try Oracle's Virtual Box. It's free. You can download it at https://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Downloads.
 

Similar threads

  • leviathanguthri
0
Replies
0
Views
281
Replies
1
Views
369
Replies
0
Views
437
  • mouseon
2
Replies
2
Views
658
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.