HELP!! iOS 5 Beta Removal

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by cwegrecki, Oct 20, 2011.

1. cwegrecki macrumors newbie

I used the iOS5 beta and now that the public release is out my iPhone locked itself because apparently i can't use the beta. I upgraded my iTunes to 10.5 and when I did a sync with my mac it said that your phone iOS has expired and must be upgraded however when I hit ok it took me to the update screen and said this device is already running the latest version of iOS 5.0

Please help all I can do is make emergency calls now!!

2. Intell macrumors P6

Intell

3. cwegrecki thread starter macrumors newbie

I am sorry but I am new to the dev. program and not sure what you mean by DFU??

Thanks for your speedy reply

Found It and am trying now!!

What is iPhone DFU mode?
    DFU mode is a state that you can put your iPhone into where it can interface with iTunes but does not load the iPhone operating system or boot loader (this is what really differs DFU mode from recovery mode). DFU stands for Device Firmware Update.

What is DFU mode used for?
    The primary reason people need to access DFU mode on their iPhone is to change the firmware on the device. This can serve to downgrade to a prior iPhone firmware and operating system, or to use a custom firmware that is required for a jailbreak or SIM unlock. For instance, if you got the iPhone OS 4 download installed and decided you would rather have a prior version of the firmware on your iPhone, you would need to do this through DFU mode.

How to enter iPhone DFU mode
    Connect the iPhone to your computer and launch iTunes
    Turn the iPhone off (hold down the power button at the top of the iPhone)
    Hold down the sleep/power button and home button together for exactly 10 seconds, then release the power button
    Continue to hold down the Home button until a message appears in iTunes telling you an iPhone in recover mode has been detected