*HELP* iTunes library reset!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by EarthNeutron, Feb 17, 2011.

  1. EarthNeutron macrumors regular

    EarthNeutron

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Location:
    Earth
    #1
    Hey, I'm having a huge problem here. I'm using iTunes 10.something (the last iTunes version anyway), but everytime I reopen iTunes, my library gets reset!
    I tried reinstalling like over 4 times but things haven't changed even after reinstalling. I also tried that Apple iTunes guide (deleting .itl and importing safari .xml) but with no luck, my library is still empty.
    Note: I'm using Windows Vista (yeah i know it's sucks a** but I'll be switching to 7 in about 2 weeks) 32bit on my Sony Vaio.
    Any suggestions? I'm sick of importing my 30gb iTunes library everytime I restart iTunes.


    Thanks.:apple:
     
  2. EvilSmiley macrumors member

    EvilSmiley

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Location:
    Smiley Central
    #2
    If you dont have any programs installed recently you can try System restore to an earlier point before this issue started. Your personal files will not get affected because of this (but backing up would be advisable). Try installing older version of itunes and see if you still have the problem.
     
  3. EarthNeutron thread starter macrumors regular

    EarthNeutron

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Location:
    Earth
    #3
    Will my iPhone have all the features with iTunes 9 or lower?
    Where can I find iTunes 9?? any links pls?
     
  4. JamesMB macrumors 68000

    JamesMB

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    You shouldn't have to install an older version.
    When you did your uninstall did you unistall iTunes and all related software?
    To completely uninstall iTunes, you also have to uninstall:
    1. iTunes
    2. QuickTime
    3. Apple Software Update
    4. Apple Mobile Device Support
    5. Bonjour
    6. Apple Application Support (iTunes 9 or later)
    Here is a link:http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1925
     
  5. EarthNeutron thread starter macrumors regular

    EarthNeutron

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    Thanks LOL, I didn't know... I've only reinstalled iTunes, that's it.
    Anyway, I'm going to upgrade to Windows 7 in about 4 days so everything might just work fine soon after.
     
  6. JamesMB macrumors 68000

    JamesMB

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    That would be nice, but I bet that you are gonna have to completely reinstall iTunes per the link.
     

Share This Page