Help! I've lost my blog!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by frannbug, Mar 23, 2010.

1. frannbug macrumors member

I have been writing a daily blog using iWeb for more than four months but have hit problems recently. First, I had publishing problems which were solved by removing the cache folder from the library of my home folder. This happened twice during the last week.

My last problem, however, is proving much more difficult to crack.

My Domain file has become unusable. I opened iWeb and instead of my blog and my other site (photographic) opening, the loading progress bar appeared and then nothing. I tried to restore one of my very many Time Machine backups of the iWeb folder to the Application Support/Library/Home Folder; but a message came up that I didn't have permissions to replace one of the files. When I then tried to open iWeb, all pages up to day 72 were restored but none of those beyond that date. I believe that may be when I upgraded to iWeb '09 from the original version that came with my computer in 2006.

This is a really difficult problem. Whenever the blog gets held up, some of my readers presume I've given up writing it and stop bothering to look for it any more. Yet all the files are still there on my iDisk so there must be some way of opening them in iWeb! If there isn't, might it be possible to get them going without too much extra work in some other application like Quark Xpress Interactive Designer, perhaps?

The only way ahead that I can see at the moment is to re-install both the system and iWeb and to copy and paste everything back from the published version. However if I do that, the hit counter records and the comments will be lost.

Can anyone offer me any suggestions, please? :confused:

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

The iWeb site file is located in /Users/user/Library/Application Support/iWeb/Domain.sites2

That's the file you need to try and recover from Time Machine.