Help: jailbreak 4.2.1 and baseband info

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Skydree, Nov 15, 2011.

1. Skydree macrumors newbie

Hello guys, i just got this new iPhone 4 like a week ago, its locked by my current carrier, so i think i don't need to worry about this preserve baseband thing, right?

Ok, so i'm really new to this jb thing. The iPhone came with iOS 4.2.1 and baseband 03.10.01. My idea was to update to 4.3.3 and jailbreak it, but after a lot of researches, i found out that i can't anymore. So my options is to stay in 4.2.1 and jailbreak it or update it to iOS 5.0.1 that is tethered jb.

So, as i can't save my blobs anymore with TinyUmbrella, i should use iFaith to save my current 4.2.1 blobs? Then jailbreak it with redsnow or greenpoison?

Oh, and you guys recommend me to unlock it offcially on my carrier, before doing anything? Or can i keep it locked, the way it is.

Thank you guys, hope you get it
    See you

2. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

Crystal-RX

3. labman macrumors 604

labman

unlocked and locked are opposites things you are talking about both. you can stay 4.2.1 and keep a unlock using a Gevey Sim as far as unlocks go.. there is no software unlock for that baseband. if you keep it locked you can only use it on your carrier IE AT&T

Oh and there are some great Stickies up at the top and some mods put up for some dumb reason.... that you might read! if you are really really board. Or like to look like you kinda know what you are talking about..

4. Skydree thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the help. I did take a look at iclarified and on the stickies, but i wasn't confortable to do the jb yet.

Looking at iclarified, i found out that the best method to jb the 4.2.1 untethered is with greenpoison.

My last question is, do you guys recommend me to unlock it by imei from my carrier, even if i actually wont need to use another sim card on it.

Thanks!

5. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

Crystal-RX