HELP jailbreak verizon iphone 4.2.8 no home button!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by brinermo, May 20, 2011.

1. brinermo macrumors newbie

Hey so my home button is broken on the Verizon CDMA iPhone 4 but everything else works, I want to jailbreak it so I can set up the optional swipe gestures to replace the home button...

But how do I jailbreak 4.2.8 without a home button?! Never done this before I don't even know what good programs to use.

Got it like this from a friend, meant to be an ipod/app/camera for my girlfriend as I already have an iPhone 4 on 4.3.3 under warranty. I'm fairly alright with hardware as I already took the Verizon iphone apart and removed the battery, camera, logic board (which has water damage, apparently only affecting the home button) and motherboard. BUT I am not too good with software.

I heard it was theoretically possible to switch my own GSM iPhone 4 motherboard with the Verizon iphone, turn it on and hope the home button works for a jailbreak before SWITCHING BACK, but even then what programs and how do I jailbreak? And where is the hard drive memory in the iphone 4 I don't want it to come back to my phone if its located on the motherboard..

PLEASE tell me there is some way to avoid doing all that work and jailbreak without the home button lol... I really don't want to void my own warranty (an apple insider told me they couldn't really tell I did it if I'm really really careful).

2. sbddude macrumors 6502a

go to the apple store and get your home button fixed/replaced. Problem solved.

3. KINetics macrumors member

Yeah, I second that. Sounds like to much work and potentially damaging to your phones.

4. brinermo thread starter macrumors newbie

already tried and they won't do it it's got water damage.

5. vong macrumors 6502a

vong

i doubt you can jailbreak. since jailbreaking requires the phone to be in dfu mode and in order to get into dfu mode, you need to use the home button