Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AppleiMac

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 7, 2007
Hello everyone,

I upgraded to an iPhone 4 and would like to jailbreak my 3GS. I've never done it before and I started to try it yesterday, spending hours in the process.

I tried blackra1n at first, which doesn't work for me at all (it says it does but the phone never reboots, it just shows the restore with iTunes logo and cord). So then I tried PwngeTool. However, everything goes smoothly except when I go to restore to the custom ispw iTunes gives an error warning 1604. The version I'm trying to restore to is 4.0 8A293.

I know this is due to the fact that the custom ispw doesn't match Apple's verification. Is there any way to get around this? Also, I never got the phone into DFU mode (I can't now because its stuck with the restore logo)...but I assume this isn't something that would affect the Apple verification right? As in, even if it was in DFU mode...it would still not work with Apple. Any help on this would be so greatly appreciated! Thanks!!

AlvinNguyen

macrumors 6502a
Jun 23, 2010
Hello everyone,

I upgraded to an iPhone 4 and would like to jailbreak my 3GS. I've never done it before and I started to try it yesterday, spending hours in the process.

I tried blackra1n at first, which doesn't work for me at all (it says it does but the phone never reboots, it just shows the restore with iTunes logo and cord). So then I tried PwngeTool. However, everything goes smoothly except when I go to restore to the custom ispw iTunes gives an error warning 1604.