Help locating a copy of osx on my computer

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jordanfours, Nov 4, 2010.

  1. jordanfours macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #1
    Ok, so my computer would not boot past the start up gray screen, so I resorted to booting from the os x disc. I had snow leopard at first, but now downgraded to the one before it because those are the only discs I have. It worked and the older version is running perfectly, it's just that it's all the default settings, all the stuff I had downloaded are in .dmg format, and some can't be found at all (photoshop, illustrator, starcraft, etc.)

    I think I have 2 copies of os x downloaded on my computer, but how would I access the first one? should I try to boot up with the disc in it again? btw, I don't have the snow leopard discs anymore... thanks for any help.
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    Buy Snow Leopard for 29 USD.

    Otherwise:

     
  3. jordanfours thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #3
    i have no problem doing that, it's just snow leopard wouldn't boot before, so would it if i put the disc in?
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    It should, unless you don't have an Intel Mac (any Mac released since 2006).

    Insert the DVD, hold down "C" and wait a while until the Installer finishes booting. It shouldn't take longer than five minutes until you come to the "Language selection screen".
     
  5. jordanfours thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #5
    Sounds good, i'll be at the apple store tomorrow. Thanks.
     
  6. jordanfours, Nov 5, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2010

    jordanfours thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    #6
    I bought snow leopard, downloaded it, and my old copy of osx isn't there. Just about all the files are there (not stuff i downloaded from disc, though), but the settings are all default. Sadly, I didn't have any time machine back-ups to load from... is there a way to get all my settings and programs back without manually doing it all?

    EDIT: I found it all in a "Previous System" folder... but I don't want to have to access all my stuff through this folder. Can I just boot from the previous system and scrap the current one?
     

Share This Page