Help! Mac Pro 3,1 will not boot!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by george-brooks, Oct 19, 2012.

  1. george-brooks macrumors 6502a

    george-brooks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #1
    Hi,
    My mac pro 3,1 was working fine until I shut it down to show my friend who is considering purchasing a mac pro how easy it is to replace the hard drives. I removed my second internal drive (not the boot disk) and then replaced it. After I closed the machine and restarted, nothing happened. The fans and front light turned on but I heard no processor or hard drive noises, no startup chime, and nothing on the screen. I recently installed a 5870, so I reinstalled my old 2600XT to see if that was the issue, but still, the same problem. What could possibly be wrong? I'm stumped!

    Thanks
     
  2. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #2
    It seems like your friend won't be getting a mac pro.... that said maybe there was somo static electricity build up and you fried the machine while taking the drive out.... Have you tried resetting the PRAM?
     
  3. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #3
    I assume you tried removing that drive again and re-inserting it?

    Possibly the connectors did not mate quite right, preventing the system from booting, and re-inserting it may alleviate the problem. Since it isn't the boot disk, you could also try booting without that drive present to see if that drive really is causing the problem.

    I would also re-seat the boot drive just in case it was jostled loose during the demonstration.



    If all else fails ... you can try resetting the SMC and PRAM ...
     
  4. ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
    #4
    I've had bad drives and poorly connected drives keep the machine from booting. If you haven't tried, remove the drive and try booting without.
     
  5. george-brooks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    george-brooks

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #5

    I have tried booting without the drive installed and have reinserted it and tried again with no luck. I also removed one of the DIMM risers during the demo, so I tried remounting all of the RAM in that riser and reinstalling at the advice of my go to computer guy (who also recommended everything else you all have said here).

    The next step is to try and reset the PRAM and SMC but I do not have a wired keyboard and in its current state the machine is not recognizing the wireless one. It seems like a RAM issue since there is no startup chime. I think I'm going to have to take it to Tekserve.
     

Share This Page